Mopar mopar forum
 HOME  FORUMS  MEMBER PHOTO GALLERY  HOW TO ARTICLES  REGISTER  
 TODAYS POSTS  MEMBER CLASSIFIEDS  VIN DECODER  VIDEO GALLERY
Our Network:  B BODY MOPAR FORUM  C BODY MOPAR FORUM  E BODY MOPAR FORUM  FMJ BODY MOPAR FORUM  PICKUP TRUCK FORUM  FOR JEEPS ONLY

Go Back   For A Bodies Only Mopar Forum > Automotive Technical Forums > Mopar General Discussions

What is this vacuum port/fitting for??

Mopar General Discussions


Forabodiesonly.com is the premier Classic Mopar forum on the internet. Registered Members do not see the above ads. Click Here to Join - It's Free!
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-28-2012, 05:58 PM   #1
4spdragtop
WTH YOU LOOKIN AT??

 
4spdragtop
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: HOME...for now
Posts: 15,084
Thanks: 311
Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts
4spdragtop's Flag is: Virgin Islands
What is this vacuum port/fitting for??

This nipple has 2 different sized nippled(poor thing). Its located in the intake manifold on dads 273 right in front of the distributor. Any ideas where the lines go....

Thanks
4spdragtop
Attached Images
 

 

 

 

4spdragtop is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-28-2012, 06:09 PM   #2
67Dart273
Senior Member
 
67Dart273
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 22,213
Thanks: 245
Thanked 1,080 Times in 1,050 Posts
67Dart273's Flag is: United States
Brake booster, small one is stuff like AC/ heater controls if used
67Dart273 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 06:09 PM   #3
Howard1784
Senior Member
 
Howard1784
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 353
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Brake booster
Howard1784 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 06:12 PM   #4
4spdragtop
WTH YOU LOOKIN AT??

 
4spdragtop
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: HOME...for now
Posts: 15,084
Thanks: 311
Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts
4spdragtop's Flag is: Virgin Islands
Dads car is an ac car, but has standard brakes??
4spdragtop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 06:19 PM   #5
RustyRatRod
I love cars.
 
RustyRatRod
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Georgia
Posts: 26,212
Thanks: 89
Thanked 1,066 Times in 1,015 Posts
RustyRatRod's Flag is: United States
Send a message via Yahoo to RustyRatRod
It's for anything that needs manifold vacuum. Plug um if you don't need um but don't lose sleep over um. lol
RustyRatRod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 06:36 PM   #6
TrailBeast
Slightly Twisted Member

 
TrailBeast
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,965
Thanks: 1
Thanked 382 Times in 373 Posts
TrailBeast's Flag is: United States
Yep.
I thought it looked small for a booster.
TrailBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 06:37 PM   #7
Coronet 500
Senior Member
 
Coronet 500
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 201
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Coronet 500's Flag is: Canada
Don't attach PCV as you don't want all that going into one cylinder.
Coronet 500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 07:22 PM   #8
TrailBeast
Slightly Twisted Member

 
TrailBeast
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,965
Thanks: 1
Thanked 382 Times in 373 Posts
TrailBeast's Flag is: United States
Yep

PCV should go to the base of the carb on the back if that's an edelbrock with the plugged port that can be removed.
My brake booster is connected to that port since I have power.
No smog laws here so I just have crankcase vents without the PCV.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coronet 500 View Post
Don't attach PCV as you don't want all that going into one cylinder.
TrailBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 10:04 PM   #9
bobscuda67
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Temperance, Michigan
Posts: 1,322
Thanks: 0
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
USA

It supplies vacuum to the AC heeater controls. The nipples are to small for a brake booster.
bobscuda67 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 10:11 PM   #10
Bad Sport
HALF A BUBBLE OFF


 
Bad Sport
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wolverine State
Posts: 14,680
Thanks: 59
Thanked 424 Times in 417 Posts
Bad Sport's Flag is: United States
Steve, I didn't look at that carb to see if the plug is in the back. If you don't have the power brakes make sure that plug is there before you attempt to start it. It will be right in the center on the back side at the base of the carb.

Looks like you're making progress all painted and such. How about a pic of the whole engine.
Bad Sport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 10:21 PM   #11
4spdragtop
WTH YOU LOOKIN AT??

 
4spdragtop
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: HOME...for now
Posts: 15,084
Thanks: 311
Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts
4spdragtop's Flag is: Virgin Islands
Hey thanks Bob and Badsport...yep got the plug in there buddy. Check the thread in a few minutes, doing an update to it now
http://www.forabodiesonly.com/mopar/...47#post1822547
4spdragtop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 11:46 PM   #12
4spdragtop
WTH YOU LOOKIN AT??

 
4spdragtop
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: HOME...for now
Posts: 15,084
Thanks: 311
Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts
4spdragtop's Flag is: Virgin Islands
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrailBeast View Post
PCV should go to the base of the carb on the back if that's an edelbrock with the plugged port that can be removed.
My brake booster is connected to that port since I have power.
No smog laws here so I just have crankcase vents without the PCV.

Hey Trail, in my pic the PCV hose should is connected to the large front middle port, I believe thats where it should be. No pwr brakes, but it does have disc
Attached Images
 

 

4spdragtop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 11:55 PM   #13
Rocky_JS
Sphyraenidae hei▀geliebt

 
Rocky_JS
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Happy Valley, Oregon
Posts: 3,609
Thanks: 18
Thanked 234 Times in 228 Posts
Rocky_JS's Flag is: United States
the small port is for the dash vacuum gauge
Rocky_JS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 12:09 AM   #14
4spdragtop
WTH YOU LOOKIN AT??

 
4spdragtop
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: HOME...for now
Posts: 15,084
Thanks: 311
Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts
4spdragtop's Flag is: Virgin Islands
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky_JS View Post
the small port is for the dash vacuum gauge
Just plug it then John, as it has factory tach...
4spdragtop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 12:32 AM   #15
Rocky_JS
Sphyraenidae hei▀geliebt

 
Rocky_JS
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Happy Valley, Oregon
Posts: 3,609
Thanks: 18
Thanked 234 Times in 228 Posts
Rocky_JS's Flag is: United States
yes, just cap it off. are you going to be re-installing the a/c? if not just remove the fitting and plug it off. I put a standard heater box in mine the outer motor bracket is just a touch bigger than the a/c motor hole.
Rocky_JS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 01:17 AM   #16
4spdragtop
WTH YOU LOOKIN AT??

 
4spdragtop
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: HOME...for now
Posts: 15,084
Thanks: 311
Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts
4spdragtop's Flag is: Virgin Islands
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky_JS View Post
yes, just cap it off. are you going to be re-installing the a/c? if not just remove the fitting and plug it off. I put a standard heater box in mine the outer motor bracket is just a touch bigger than the a/c motor hole.
We were going to do a "cosmetic" hook up on the ac/(just for looks)....I will run it by dad and see what he wants to do.

Thanks again!!
4spdragtop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 09:38 PM   #17
TrailBeast
Slightly Twisted Member

 
TrailBeast
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,965
Thanks: 1
Thanked 382 Times in 373 Posts
TrailBeast's Flag is: United States
Yep

That is the best hookup on that carb/intake point for a PCV and no power brakes.

Nice.


Quote:
Originally Posted by 4spdragtop View Post
Hey Trail, in my pic the PCV hose should is connected to the large front middle port, I believe thats where it should be. No pwr brakes, but it does have disc
TrailBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 11:05 PM   #18
65Val
Average Length Member
 
65Val
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada, EH!
Posts: 3,311
Thanks: 14
Thanked 93 Times in 90 Posts
65Val's Flag is: Canada
Steve...in your pic, you have your dist vac. connected to full-time, manifold vacuum. Move it to the other side of the big vac hose. That is ported, timed vacuum.
65Val is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 07:46 AM   #19
Rocky_JS
Sphyraenidae hei▀geliebt

 
Rocky_JS
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Happy Valley, Oregon
Posts: 3,609
Thanks: 18
Thanked 234 Times in 228 Posts
Rocky_JS's Flag is: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by 65Val View Post
Steve...in your pic, you have your dist vac. connected to full-time, manifold vacuum. Move it to the other side of the big vac hose. That is ported, timed vacuum.

good eye!
Rocky_JS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes



Fabo Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.