Dismiss Notice

Welcome!

to the largest Classic Mopar forum on the internet!

Buy / Sell Parts - Be Part of the club

Join Mopar Club

Its Free!

Already a member? Click here to Log In

another fuel gauge issue

Discussion in 'Electrical and Ignition' started by Slappy, Apr 14, 2012.

  1. Slappy

    Slappy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,203
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa Fla.
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    2:48 PM
    Thanks to all whom can help. I have been reading some past threads on fuel gauges. I need to know a few answers if possible. I have a 70 Duster. First I tried grounding sending unit wire and got no response on gauge. I pulled cluster. I powered the gauge and it works. Also need to mention the temp gauge is not working. I replaced voltage limiter with one I had. Here are my readings. on one side of gauge it reades varying voltage of around 5v. The other side of the gauge has nothing( according to power probe it shows ground) Using my power probe I grounded the already grounded other side of gauge and no affect on gauge. What am I missing?? I went to LF kick panel and checked connector there and tried grounding dark blue wire and same nothing.
     
  2. cannucky

    cannucky Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,514
    Likes Received:
    72
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Location:
    Victoria BC
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    11:48 AM
    voltage regulator maybe ?
     
  3. Slappy

    Slappy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,203
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa Fla.
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    2:48 PM
    figured the reg was working due to the varying 5 v voltage. also I replaced it with another one but the condition of both are unknown. Just not sure what I should read with my volt meter at the gauge if its working properly
     
  4. 67Dart273

    67Dart273 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    31,675
    Likes Received:
    1137
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Location:
    Idaho
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    11:48 AM
    Read this thread. There are several issues that can happen with your cluster

    http://www.forabodiesonly.com/mopar/showthread.php?p=1811915

    Repost of my post:

     
  5. Slappy

    Slappy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,203
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa Fla.
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    2:48 PM
    Thanks for the advise. I did read this thread. I will read again to make sure the issues are not related to the list. I ordered an voltage limiter last night. Does anyone know what I should see on a correctly working fuel gauge (voltage wise) at the gauge?
     
  6. RedFish

    RedFish Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    19,403
    Likes Received:
    297
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Local Time:
    1:48 PM
    Mecanical limieters create a pulsing voltage all around 2.x to 3.x volts which averages around 5 to 6 volts. A good analog meter will show the average while a digital meter will flash numbers like crazy.
    A solid state reulator provide a constant 5 volts seen on any volt meter.
    Please note; The instrument panel will not work properly while dangling from the harness connectors. It needs a chassis ground.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Slappy

      Slappy Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      2,203
      Likes Received:
      39
      Joined:
      Sep 18, 2008
      Location:
      Tampa Fla.
      View My Photos
      Local Time:
      2:48 PM
      oh dang Redfish I had no idea. Thats exactly how im checking it. What if I run a ground wire to it?
       
    • 67Dart273

      67Dart273 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      31,675
      Likes Received:
      1137
      Joined:
      Oct 14, 2010
      Location:
      Idaho
      View My Photos
      Local Time:
      11:48 AM
      Yep, needs to be grounded. That is EXACTLY why I recommend ADDING a ground wire in my post above. You either need to solder a wire to one of the board ground traces, or install one under a screw and make SURE it is clean and tight. Leave it long enough, about a foot or a little more, that you can bolt it to the column support before you put the cluster clear in.

      (You actually don't need the ground for the gauges, you need it for the voltage limiter)
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • cannucky

        cannucky Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        4,514
        Likes Received:
        72
        Joined:
        Sep 25, 2008
        Location:
        Victoria BC
        View My Photos
        Local Time:
        11:48 AM
        Redfish is the man when it comes to this .
         
      • Slappy

        Slappy Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        2,203
        Likes Received:
        39
        Joined:
        Sep 18, 2008
        Location:
        Tampa Fla.
        View My Photos
        Local Time:
        2:48 PM
        Thanks to all of you for the help.
         
      • Slappy

        Slappy Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        2,203
        Likes Received:
        39
        Joined:
        Sep 18, 2008
        Location:
        Tampa Fla.
        View My Photos
        Local Time:
        2:48 PM
        I wanted to post a fix to the fuel gauge and temp gauge. I took everyones advise above. Thanks for the input. What I did was changed the regulator on circuit board. I also changed the nuts on gauges to real nuts and not the wavy ones. I also ran a ground wire to the panel and tightend all screws around the cluster. I know the fix wasnt the regulator because the old one was working. But walla after all that everything works.
         
      • 67Dart273

        67Dart273 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        31,675
        Likes Received:
        1137
        Joined:
        Oct 14, 2010
        Location:
        Idaho
        View My Photos
        Local Time:
        11:48 AM
        !! Good fer ya !!