Boat anchor

-

Dartn440

Reaction score
So my buddy has been building Mopars for quite awhile, I am a novice, but I don't agree with everything he tells me. I went after a 360 block today with heads and ended up coming home with the 360, a 904, a SB 727, and a BB 727.... a bunch of manifolds, two TQ converters, a box of randomness.....and a 273 out of a 66 Satellite. My buddy says it is a boat anchor. I disagree. Came with a second set of heads. If I read correctly they are 273/318 heads. I have no time for the motor now, but won't toss it. Will this intake work?

IMG_1763.JPG

IMG_1764.JPG

The only glitch you must watch for on a 273 is the earlier ones had 5/16 manifold bolts which were at a DIFFERENT angle.

Apart from needing unleaded seats for the exhaust valves the 920 head is a good closed chamber head and will work great on a mild build 318

"And a box of randomness"
:rofl::rofl::rofl:
That's awesome!

The older 273 heads use a smaller 5/16 IIRC bolt. So try an regular normal size 3/8 bolt before you try and bolt up the intake.

So my buddy has been building Mopars for quite awhile, I am a novice, but I don't agree with everything he tells me. I went after a 360 block today with heads and ended up coming home with the 360, a 904, a SB 727, and a BB 727.... a bunch of manifolds, two TQ converters, a box of randomness.....and a 273 out of a 66 Satellite. My buddy says it is a boat anchor. I disagree. Came with a second set of heads. If I read correctly they are 273/318 heads. I have no time for the motor now, but won't toss it. Will this intake work?

View attachment 1715064150

View attachment 1715064151

That intake will work nice with a spread bore carburetor - either a Carter thermoquad or Holley spread bore...

If you prefer square bore carbs, I would recommend the Wiand stealth intake...