how can i beef up my 318 performance

-

customduster73

Custom73
Reaction score
what are some things I could do to beef up my 318 small block performance? im new to engine compartment. Learning as I go. any help or advice would be great. also if I should just save some money and get a 360?

Above, I see great minds think alike! Both posted at the same time! LOL!

Depending on how far you want to go, the first step is to make a plan and stick with it.
Moving to a 360 is a catch 22 since the money you could spend on a hop up or mild performance gains would go to getting and then machining the 360. (If it needed the work) It can be a good chunk of coin depending on the parts used and what your target goal is. Still, a junk yard 360 plus the cost of a B&M corrective balance flex plate and then maybe engine mount(s)?

As a general guide line;
(This is a general list and sometimes there not so easy to do, but here we go!)

Stage 1, bolt on parts
(From top to bottom)

Upgraded air cleaner, stock 4bbl. or open
Carb to a 4bbl., Holley, Edelbrock or TQ (TQ must use the proper intake or adapter!)
Intake manifold to a 4bbl. General to mile performance Holley or Edelbrock should be 600-650 cfm's.
Headers into a 2-1/4 exhaust (mild) or 2-1/2 exhaust (good for power!)
An "H" or "X" pipe would be a plus in the system. Summit racing or Jegs has inexpensive header back kits with and without mufflers.
It is my opinion that the headers and the exhaust kit be purchased at the same time and installed at the same time as well. The X or H will require some time to splice in, so, take a weekend and perhaps have a buddy around.

Upgrade the ignition, distributor, wires, and ignition box. For a basic plug and play, the MoPar Chrome box or a FBO unit is excellent.

Stage 2, bolt in parts and machine work