HP manifolds and spool Mounts

Discussion in 'Mopar Exhaust Systems' started by Mopar92, Dec 6, 2017 at 9:52 PM.

  1. Mopar92

    Mopar92 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    134
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2015
    Location:
    Lewisburg tn
    Local Time:
    8:07 PM
    I was just reading a non specific Mopar forum and a guy said HP’s won’t fit with a spool type mount using all factory K and Mounts. Is this true? Never heard this one.
     
  2. RustyRatRod

    RustyRatRod Just another dumbass. FABO Gold Member Technical Editor

    Messages:
    43,131
    Likes Received:
    6158
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Location:
    Georgia
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    9:07 PM
    Didn't the 73 340 A bodies use spool mounts?
     
  3. Mopar92

    Mopar92 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    134
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2015
    Location:
    Lewisburg tn
    Local Time:
    8:07 PM
    They did. I’m about to know. I’m putting some HP’s I have in my 73 spool conversion. These are the early HP’s.
     
  4. oldkimmer

    oldkimmer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    8,529
    Likes Received:
    448
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Location:
    Kindersley, Saskatchewan,
    Local Time:
    8:07 PM
    Just goes to show that u can’t believe everything u read on the net. Kim
     
  5. tonysrt

    tonysrt Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    50
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Location:
    Northport, NY
    Local Time:
    9:07 PM
    Could it be manifolds were changed to accommodate the spool mount since new mounts were mandatory?
     
  6. Mopar92

    Mopar92 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    134
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2015
    Location:
    Lewisburg tn
    Local Time:
    8:07 PM
    Mandatory? Thought it was just a design change.
     
  7. autoxcuda

    autoxcuda Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,771
    Likes Received:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    6:07 PM
    I ran 68 340 HP manifolds on my 68' 340 Barracuda S with 73-76 K-member.

    No problem.

    IMG_0633.PNG
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • 318willrun

      318willrun Stomper 4x4... we kept energizer in business FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      4,773
      Likes Received:
      2088
      Joined:
      Sep 13, 2013
      Location:
      I'm here
      Local Time:
      8:07 PM
      Spool or biscuit motor mounts have nothing to do about the 340 manifolds fitting.
       
      • Agree Agree x 2
      • Like Like x 1
      • tonysrt

        tonysrt Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        215
        Likes Received:
        50
        Joined:
        Dec 25, 2016
        Location:
        Northport, NY
        Local Time:
        9:07 PM
        Reason it became mandatory was because engines were coming out of the previous designed motor mounts so Government stepped in to have car makers correct the problem.
         
        • Like Like x 1
        • Mopar92

          Mopar92 Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          954
          Likes Received:
          134
          Joined:
          Dec 23, 2015
          Location:
          Lewisburg tn
          Local Time:
          8:07 PM
          Ah yeah. Pulling the throttle open when the engine torqued up.
           
        • tonysrt

          tonysrt Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          215
          Likes Received:
          50
          Joined:
          Dec 25, 2016
          Location:
          Northport, NY
          Local Time:
          9:07 PM
          I don't remember if there was a particular accident that made this change come about. I just remember of talk so that the mounts couldn't come loose and have engines come out of the mounts.