leaking green bearing

-

steveh

Reaction score
driver side was leaking again. pulled the axle and inner seal {spring had fallen off the o ring}. Put it back together with new inner seal and flange gaskets. Is there a trick to get these things to seal?

Read other posts were guys ran an inner seal as an added precaution; but the first seal didn't do the trick. so i'm hoping this one will work...running out of ideas here. obtw, I also replaced the breather even though it wasn't clogged.

i'm no mechanic, so any advice would be greatly appreciated

thx
steve

your not supposed to run the inner seal with the green's as they are a seal bearing. that said i do. but i also RTV the bearing into the housing as i dont trust that little o ring to seal.

now if yours is leaking thru the black plastic you need a new bearing

I'm getting gear oil inside the drum. where do you run the bead of rtv...on the o ring or further back on the retainer (the thin metal ring on the bearing, that mates with the flange gasket)? like I said in op, i'm no mechanic.

if your running an inner seal there should be no oil in there, if there is you need to replace the seal and make sure its the correct size for your axles.

next you need to clean the crap out of everything, once its oil free i usually put a bead where the bearing housing is going to sit. also put a bead right on top of that o ring. after that let it sit over night or longer to let it cure. then your good to go.

axles were from dr diff...inner seal is from napa. if it don't seal up this time, i'll pull it again and use rtv when putting it back together...

axles were from dr diff...inner seal is from napa. if it don't seal up this time, i'll pull it again and use rtv when putting it back together...

dont bother... did you check the seal to the axle? make sure its a good fit?

just RTV it and be done, why dick around and have to pull it all aprt again?