110vac to 110dc

Discussion in 'Shop, Garage and Tools' started by dodgedifferent2, Dec 6, 2018.

  1. dodgedifferent2

    dodgedifferent2 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    229
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    southwestern, Ontario
    Local Time:
    6:01 PM
    New
    So I am no electrical brain child.

    I have 110 volts 15 amp wall socket.
    I have a universal 110vac/dc motor.
    60/50 hz
    Full load of 1.1 amps.

    Now the confusion.

    I want to run this motor from my wall socket. I am not very smart with electrical but I can hook up wires. Can I just hook the wires up and plug it in? Or do I need a resistor? Or transformer?
    Dont want to burn this motor out.
    Any electrical smart pants out there?
    Cheapest way is best for me ;-)
     
  2. loganscuda

    loganscuda DON’T reMember

    Messages:
    1,403
    Likes Received:
    983
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Location:
    san antonio
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    6:01 PM
    What kind of motor is it? Used for what? If it is universal you will be ok. If it is 110dc you will need a rectifier. You may have to switch leads depending on what direction you want it to run. Another question, how many wires does it have. 2,3,4. Does the motor have a on/off switch. You may want to add one if not.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2018
  3. dodgedifferent2

    dodgedifferent2 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    229
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    southwestern, Ontario
    Local Time:
    6:01 PM
    Hooking it to a drum switch to get forward/reverse
    4 wires

    I was confused on the amps.
    But I figured out that the motor will only draw 1 amp and I had it in my head that the outlet will dump 15 amps to the motor and fry it. So hooking it up like a standard 110vac plug ...

    This is being put on my custom built bead roller 20181115_104612.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • 89on35s

      89on35s Inferno Red Duster FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      1,166
      Likes Received:
      655
      Joined:
      May 11, 2006
      Location:
      Martensville Sask. Can.
      View My Photos
      Local Time:
      6:01 PM
      Take a picture of the motor nameplate and post it. Maybe I could help.

      Cley
       
    • MoparMike1974

      MoparMike1974 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      870
      Likes Received:
      427
      Joined:
      Jun 16, 2017
      Location:
      Maryland
      Local Time:
      7:01 PM
      The power source does not "dump" amps into the motor. Amps are dependent on what the motor draws. A 15a circuit just means that its capped to 15a by the size of the wiring and limited by the size of the circuit breaker for safety. A 1A motor on a 15A circuit will draw 1A.
      Are you sure the motor is AC/DC? Multi voltage motors will have different windings and you have to hook them up according to the voltage you are using. There is usually a data plate on the motor with wiring specifics.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • YY1

        YY1 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        5,172
        Likes Received:
        964
        Joined:
        Oct 11, 2011
        Location:
        FL
        Local Time:
        7:01 PM
        I can't off the top of my head, think of a 115VDC source....

        Aren't most DC motors 6, 9, 12, 18, 24, 32 etc?
         
      • 89on35s

        89on35s Inferno Red Duster FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        1,166
        Likes Received:
        655
        Joined:
        May 11, 2006
        Location:
        Martensville Sask. Can.
        View My Photos
        Local Time:
        6:01 PM
        DC motors come in any voltage. Are you sure its AC/DC ?

        Cley
         
      • loganscuda

        loganscuda DON’T reMember

        Messages:
        1,403
        Likes Received:
        983
        Joined:
        Jul 15, 2010
        Location:
        san antonio
        View My Photos
        Local Time:
        6:01 PM
        Generator
         
      • loganscuda

        loganscuda DON’T reMember

        Messages:
        1,403
        Likes Received:
        983
        Joined:
        Jul 15, 2010
        Location:
        san antonio
        View My Photos
        Local Time:
        6:01 PM
        You may want to add a reostat to give it a soft start so it doesn’t start up at high speed. What horsepower is the motor
         
      • jos51700

        jos51700 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        4,363
        Likes Received:
        1122
        Joined:
        May 24, 2009
        Location:
        Bel-Ray
        Local Time:
        6:01 PM
        Plug it in and see.
         
      • 67Dart273

        67Dart273 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        38,101
        Likes Received:
        5692
        Joined:
        Oct 14, 2010
        Location:
        Idaho
        View My Photos
        Local Time:
        4:01 PM
        All older "brush" 110V AC motors such as drills, handheld grinders, vacuum cleaners, sewing machine motors, etc, were known as "universal." They run on either AC or DC.

        To reverse them you must separate the commutator connections from the field. This gives you 4 wires, the two sets of which are in series. To reverse the motor, either AC or DC power, you reverse one set in relation to the other set. In other words, leave one end of the field connected, and reverse the two commutator leads in series with the field

        A permanent magnet motor would likely only have two leads........the commutator (armature) as the "field" is a magnet
         
      • dodgedifferent2

        dodgedifferent2 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        2,382
        Likes Received:
        229
        Joined:
        Aug 8, 2008
        Location:
        southwestern, Ontario
        Local Time:
        6:01 PM
        Here is a pic of wiring.

        Screenshot_20181207-073514_Chrome.jpg
        Debating on switching to a split phase motor for more torque
         
      • halifaxhops

        halifaxhops It's going to get stupid around here! FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        46,253
        Likes Received:
        14499
        Joined:
        Jan 20, 2014
        Location:
        CENTRURAL, PA
        View My Photos
        Local Time:
        7:01 PM
        That's a ac motor even states the HZ, easy two wire hook up. Only 2.8 RPM would not sweat a speed controller. Hope it helps.
         
        • Agree Agree x 2
        • 67Dart273

          67Dart273 Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          38,101
          Likes Received:
          5692
          Joined:
          Oct 14, 2010
          Location:
          Idaho
          View My Photos
          Local Time:
          4:01 PM
          I'm not sure that is correct.......AC motors don't have "wound armatures". The way an AC motor reverses is that you reverse the starting windings with respect to the run windings. ALSO NOTICE the two windings are in series..........the hallmark of a "series" AC/DC motor. Also notice the Hz rating. You will rarely if ever find an AC motor rated for that wide Hz change. Usually, they are 50/60 Hz, example.

          I'm convinced that is actually an AC/DC motor
           
        • halifaxhops

          halifaxhops It's going to get stupid around here! FABO Gold Member

          Messages:
          46,253
          Likes Received:
          14499
          Joined:
          Jan 20, 2014
          Location:
          CENTRURAL, PA
          View My Photos
          Local Time:
          7:01 PM
          Look at the tag, it is reversible easy peasy.

          :popcorn:
           
        • 67Dart273

          67Dart273 Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          38,101
          Likes Received:
          5692
          Joined:
          Oct 14, 2010
          Location:
          Idaho
          View My Photos
          Local Time:
          4:01 PM
          That's not what I'm saying.........of course it's reversible. What I'm saying, is, that is actually an AC/DC/ universal/ series motor regardless of what the label calls out

          When I was 17 years old I dug into a drill, separated the winding leads, and made it reversible by adding a switch. That was around 1967
           
        • Tooljunkie

          Tooljunkie King of cobble/master of the broken bolt FABO Gold Member

          Messages:
          6,694
          Likes Received:
          5153
          Joined:
          Jul 22, 2017
          Location:
          Manitoba
          Local Time:
          6:01 PM
          Four wires come out, 2 are joined and two get power.
          I would run that.
          No worries. Like the build. You may find it a little slow, but thats ok.
          I used a 12v atv winch and geared it down. I like the artistic stand.
          I think it will have sufficient power.
           
        • dodgedifferent2

          dodgedifferent2 Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          2,382
          Likes Received:
          229
          Joined:
          Aug 8, 2008
          Location:
          southwestern, Ontario
          Local Time:
          6:01 PM
        • Tooljunkie

          Tooljunkie King of cobble/master of the broken bolt FABO Gold Member

          Messages:
          6,694
          Likes Received:
          5153
          Joined:
          Jul 22, 2017
          Location:
          Manitoba
          Local Time:
          6:01 PM
          My post grinder is clearly labelled dc.
          It came with a wall plug.
          Noisy and fast. It sounds like a shop vac when its running.
          And my 50/60 year old cast aluminum black and decker drill,dc also.
          No magic smoke released yet...
           
        • loganscuda

          loganscuda DON’T reMember

          Messages:
          1,403
          Likes Received:
          983
          Joined:
          Jul 15, 2010
          Location:
          san antonio
          View My Photos
          Local Time:
          6:01 PM
          Point is you are safe to use. If direction is wrong follow directions on motor.
           
          • Agree Agree x 1