19 Dead in fire Bronx NY

-
Don’t like reading these types of things. Prayers For all involved and the families that have experienced loss.

From what I've read on this the city bears a lot of responsibility. They "owned" it I believe..............Exits? Sprinklers? Alarms?

Just terrible. I read something about a lack of oxygen?

From what I've read on this the city bears a lot of responsibility. They "owned" it I believe..............Exits? Sprinklers? Alarms?
I don't know about the exits and sprinklers but they said the alarms were blaring in the background when the 911 calls came in.

I believe there are fire alarms and of course there are marked exits. Sprinklers I dont know
The single biggest factor was not the fire, that was contained to the one apartment as ive read.
When the residents fled that apartment they did not shut the door, the smoke filled the building
They say that the deaths were smoke inhalation

I've been working in the fire alarm/life safety industry for 30 years. From what I've read so far most if not all of the deaths were due to smoke inhalation. It would appear that the doors to the unit where the fire started did not automatically close. I don't claim to know all the codes and standards across the US but I would be very surprised if automatic door closers weren't a requirement on the exterior doors at the units. Likely broken or improperly maintained. Considering the construction would have required firewalls all the way around the units had the door closers been in place and functioned properly likely no one would have died. At least that's based on what I've heard so far. Absolutely terrible and preventable.