1965 Dodge Dart GT convertible with 318 and 727 Transmission, linkage or cables do not work.

-

Havasuhd

Reaction score
Hi, I just bought a 1965 GT convertible, they put a brand new 318 and 727 transmission in the car it did not have a engine or trans when they bought it. Was not done by a mechanic and now the original automatic shift on the floor does not work properly. You have to really play with it to try and get in the right gear, cannot go up far enough to get in Park. It feels like the shifter having the movement and "click" spots just do not line up with this transmission. My local mechanics do not seem to have the knowledge of what to do. Is there just a aftermarket shift I should be putting in to line up with the new transmission or? Any info would be helpful. I am not a mechanic just playing around with the car cause I liked it. :) THANK YOU!!!

There was a company (now out of business) that made a custom cable setup to use the stock shifter with a 66-later transmission. I believe you have a couple if options: use a 65 dual cable 904. There are other considerations when using a 68-up engine OR use an aftermarket cable shifter. IIRC there is one shifter that fits under the stock console and looks similar to the stock shifter.