1967 Barracuda 383 tuning tips

-

Odmark91

Reaction score
Hello. I have a 1967 Baarracuda with a swapped in 383 from a 1964 Chrysler. Its now stock apart from a holley 700 carb and headers.
Im looking to get a set of good aluminium heads, another camshaft (roller?) and maybe a slightly bigger carb, like a quickfuel 850 wich i have had good experience with in the past.
And also roller rockers, ignition etc.

I have never worked on Mopars before at all, maybe someone could point me in the direction of some good street/strip performance parts?

Ive looked a bit at the Edelbrock Performance Package, just becausr you get a lot in one kit and its pretty cheap, but i heard people before saying that its not worth it?

Anyway, i would really appreciate the help.

That's a pretty tame motor. Aluminum heads will help along with a little more cam. You didn't say what converter you have.

Probably just a stock converter, im not the one who did the engine swap so i really dont know. But ill add that to the purchase list.

If yur thinking like that, a low-deck 383 with a 440 crank, I think makes about a 425 cuber before boring.
but
A well built 383 is a screaming banshee. She is to BBs what the 340 was to the SBMs. At a factory stroke of 3.375 (compared to 3.315 for the 340) she can be a formidable hi-rpm weapon, without the monster torque associated with longer strokes. Torque which, in most A-bodies, just overwhelms the chassis.
The hick-up I anticipate is gearing such an engine for street. It won't take much to push that 383 to 400/450 horsepower, but it comes with the price of being at hi-rpm.
Nothing wrong with that except with 3.23s say, 5800 rpm with 28" tires is 58 mph.
To put the 383 power down where you mostly drive, say 35 mph is gonna be darn near impossible. And if you do gear it with say 3.91s, well then say goodbye to hiway cruising cuz 3.91s and 28s makes 65=3050 @ zeroslip, and that is not much fun, and usually uses a lot of gas to go anywhere. ..