1970 dodge dart front disc brake conversion

-

DGE7070

Reaction score
I have a 1970 Dodge Dart I am converting to disc brakes. It has an 11inch drum with a small bolt pattern and 14inch tires. What do I need to complete this conversion?

Are you sure the're 11"? Anyway 2 ways to go 1 small bolt 1 big bolt. To keep the small you'll need a kelsey hayes setup from a 72 and earlier a body ie spindles,calipers,dust shields,hubs and all associated hardware prop vale, caliper brackets and such. Just did my 71 swinger that way. The big bolt way is with the later big bolt setup 73-76 a body or the scarebird setup which I have no experience with. Same parts list as the small but the big bolt setup is single piston slider setup, small is 4piston fixed caliper. Best deal either way is to find a complete setup and rebuild replace as necessary.Small bolt setup is more expensive but with my small bolt rallyes and 8 3/4 out back in small bolt I went that way.Hope that was some help. When you decide bolt pattern I can get more specific.

Check out "mattsclassicbowties.com" he has a dodge section with a disc brake conversion kits... Everything you would need... Thats where I'm going when I convert my breaks.... It's the best deal I could find for everything.... If you can find a better one please let me know...

:coffee2:i'am trying out the scarebird setup. he sends you the caliper bracket and a list of parts to buy from your local parts source. mocked up they look alright. uses the original spindle. i started out with a six cylinder valiant with 9" drums thats getting a 318 magnum/904 combo. using 14" rally wheels, i think i had the trim the caliper a little for clearance. iam still doing body work. so it will be a while before i know how they work.

With the big bolt pattern changeover, you need to include the upper control arms too. Do a search in this section. There are many threads on this same subject.