1972 Duster Heater Control Unit - defrost question

-

TKoers

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm new to the A body world as my dad just gave back a car my brother and I got him for father's day 8 years ago as he can no longer work on it.

I am trying to get the defrost working in the car. I pulled the heater control unit out (that wasn't easy but it made it through the radio slot) and discovered that whomever owned the car previously had been trying to rig the temperature control cable to the adjustment switch through some sort of what appears to be soldered connection assuming to a vertical post riveted to the control lever itself (you'll see that in the cable picture below). That of course did not hold so I have to find a way to re-connect it just to be able to pull heat to the defroster when needed. You'll see on the lever picture the riveted post (numbered 1), the missing piece I assume was for AC control as it would only be activated when the temp lever was all the way on cool (numbered 2) and lastly a hole where the temperature control cable retaining clip was screwed into (numbered 3). The car was originally a slant 6 with AC but who knows when the AC was pulled out and that's fine as I'm not looking to reinstall AC in the unit - just want to be able to move the temp to hot if needed for defrost. The control unit has a broken nipple and I can't find a vacuum diagram. I am wondering if anyone knows what the broken nipple was for and if it is for AC only or if it will prevent the defrost from working assuming I can find a way to reattach the temperature control cable to the adjustment lever. Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

TempControlCable.jpg

BrokenVacuumNipple.jpg

RivetedPostOnControlLever.jpg

Hi! Thank you for this topic, I've been fixing it lately, so I'm looking for similar topics, for which thank you very much

Hello,