2 Brand New MSD Dist's only advance 8 Deg

Electrical and Ignition

  1. 70DusterBob

    70DusterBob Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    126
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    Local Time:
    11:20 AM
    Hey,

    I just bought two MSD Distributors, both are giving me 8 degree off (under) advances equally with all the stops. WTH??? I don't know how this can be. Any tips, or things I can check? The two are identical, but one black cap and one red cap, as per link below. The red is in it now.

    I'm using factory EI set up, could this be the cause?

    MSD Billet Distributors 8534

    Thanks
     
  2. 70DusterBob

    70DusterBob Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    126
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    Local Time:
    11:20 AM
    Went to MSD website, says don't use solid core wires. I'm not sure if they mean with the MSD 6AL box, or not even with the distributor I used. Anyone know? I'm not sure if I have solid core or not, but if it causes a decrease in advance, that may be the problem.
     
  3. halifaxhops

    halifaxhops It's going to get stupid around here! FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    58,512
    Likes Received:
    26753
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Location:
    CENTRURAL, PA
    Local Time:
    12:20 PM
    Most electronic ignitions need suppressed wires. Solid core are exactly that usually stranded copper wire in a shield.
     
  4. 70DusterBob

    70DusterBob Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    126
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    Local Time:
    11:20 AM
    I think they are 8mm with like some kind of graphite looking/colored material in a plastic shield, would that count for solid core? There is no spiral about them.

    Good to see ya, I got my car back today. The carb is over distributing gas to the engine, but the timing is set at 20, only goes up to 30 advance. It says on the box the stop I'm using should go to 18 degrees advance, which would be 20-38. I know it needs to be 16 at idle, then go up to like 34 or something, maybe 15 to 33, but something isn't right. I will call MSD in the morning. May need new wires and the 6AL.
     
  5. halifaxhops

    halifaxhops It's going to get stupid around here! FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    58,512
    Likes Received:
    26753
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Location:
    CENTRURAL, PA
    Local Time:
    12:20 PM
    Sounds like those are suppression wires which should be right. Take the cap off and turn the rotor and see if it moving at all, should be a bit of a turn, might just be sticking also. *8 is nothing. Might just need adjusting, according to the descriptions sounds like it can be adjusted. Come with extra springs and bushings?.
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2020
  6. halifaxhops

    halifaxhops It's going to get stupid around here! FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    58,512
    Likes Received:
    26753
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Location:
    CENTRURAL, PA
    Local Time:
    12:20 PM
  7. 70DusterBob

    70DusterBob Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    126
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    Local Time:
    11:20 AM
    Well, all the stops have different amounts of advance. The black is the least amount. Supposed to be 18, it's 10. I wouldn't mind getting nicer wires, but what is wrong with going with the red stop. The most amount of advance. We thought it may be sticking, so I got another identical dist, same thing. That is why I'm thinking either the Stock EI is throwing it a curve, or the wires. If it's not the wires, it may be the stock EI. I will get a 6AL box and try that, expensive R&D, but sometimes that's the only way to figure it out. I guess it could be that MSD goofed on MFG them, but that is an outside chance.

    How much would it cost me to have you diagnose it, and how long would it take if I shipped it to you? Like if it works fine for you, then I know it is part of my set up. If it's the same, then I probably wont get the 6AL. It is $275! and just go with whatever springs and stop you can get a 16 idle timing with 32 max.
     
  8. halifaxhops

    halifaxhops It's going to get stupid around here! FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    58,512
    Likes Received:
    26753
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Location:
    CENTRURAL, PA
    Local Time:
    12:20 PM
    I don't touch them Mopar, autolite and prestolites only. Do the rotor thing. Really doubt it is your set up. What are you using also?
     
  9. halifaxhops

    halifaxhops It's going to get stupid around here! FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    58,512
    Likes Received:
    26753
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Location:
    CENTRURAL, PA
    Local Time:
    12:20 PM
    Confused here on the 16 at idle. That where you set the initial?

    That would be ALOT of mechanical at idle. Ideally 0 at idle then it goes up from there.
     
  10. 67Dart273

    67Dart273 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    42,399
    Likes Received:
    10040
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Location:
    Idaho
    Local Time:
    9:20 AM
    In no particular order

    1...Suspect a rotor phasing issue. Google that

    2....Suspect your methods or hardware......What do youhave for a light? If it's a "dial up" deal SUSPECT that and round up a plain old "light." No dials, no retard / advance knob

    3...What are you using for timing markings and do you KNOW they are correct?
     
  11. 70DusterBob

    70DusterBob Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    126
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    Local Time:
    11:20 AM
    It is a fresh engine replacement. Checked it with three different timing lights. Says on website that I must run an msd box like the 6al. I will get one, and see if that does it.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.