318 to 390 stroker

-

dieselman966

Reaction score
I figured I would start another thread for the stroker build for our 78 w200 build. I'd put it over on one of the truck forums but there doesnt seem to be much activity on them.

I'll try to keep this thread more about the engine and any issues we run into while building it.

Basically we are stroking the stock 318 to a 390 and adding some of these heads
Mopar Edelbrock LA Aluminum Cylinder Heads
Along with probably a pretty healthy cam What ever that ends up being. Were planning on a pretty big stall converter now too. Probably 3000 rpm higher

Just trying to make this easy to search for people maybe considering doing a similar build. Were kicking around the idea of getting a 408 ci short block from blueprint engines also. We see what we decide to do here.

Thinking about the same thing myself. I have a pair of Speedmaster aluminum heads and a roller cam 318 block. Subscribed.

I think the money best spent would be the short block from blueprint engines. The other thread I have someone posted a link to the thread of of it. $2799 I believe they said for the 408 ci engine.

I'm doing one using a Magnum 5.2L block for my '99 Dakota R/T. Using a SCAT crank and I-beam rods, ICON forged dished pistons, Indy RHS 2.02 heads, M1 2bbl intake, 53mm TB and a VooDoo hyd. roller cam (219/227*@.050", 112*LSA, .550" lift). I'm hoping to peak around 5000rpm with gobs of torque from 2000+rpm. I have a bigger cam that would probably work fine, but I want good driveability and that thing is HEAVY (ext. cab)!!!

PS: I also have a flat-top Diamond .040" forged piston set that I'd like to do a flat-tappet 392" setup with aluminum heads with, for a carb'd setup someday.

We have the machine work done on the 318 finally. The builder is wondering how high we want to go with the compression ratio. He is suggesting keeping it around 9.6 to 1 with the dishes pistons. Were wondering if we should push it over 10 to 1 while were at it?