360 compression ratio, Am I wasting my time?

-

SGBARRACUDA

ROY
Legendary Member
Reaction score
This is going to take some speculation on your part but let me give you the facts that i have. I have a 360 that has been rebuilt by the previous owner who has since passed away, so I have little knowledge of the facts. I took it out of my 69 Dart to do alot of detailing under the hood, interior etc. The car was somewhat gutless when it was together so I'm planing on doing some engine mods while I have it out. It did run great, sounded great, ( has a nice sounding bumpstick in it) Though I don't know what it is. I plan on taking it apart after hunting season. I figured it was a low compression engine and this is what I know about it. It has 915 J heads which are open chambered, looking thru a plug hole I can see it has good size dished pistons. I'll cc the chambers, piston dish, and how far down in the hole the pistons are once I take it apart. My Question, Is it possible to get the compession up in the 9.0-9.5 range by cutting the heads? And or using a closed chambered head? Or am I wasting my time and should start over with a new build? Thanks upfront for your imput or suggestions.