4 speed problem

-

Bob B

Reaction score
I have a 1969 GTS 383 4 spd with a problem. Shifting from neutral into 1st I have a severe shimmy/vibration. Once I am rolling it goes away. No problem from 2nd to 3rd to 4th. Any clues what could be going on. I have had the tranny rebuilt, new clutch, pressure plate, the bushing and bearing at the front as well as the rear tranny mount, thanks for any help or suggestions.

"shimmy/vibration" when your sitting still?
No Dave, it is when I am just starting out in 1st, I sort of have to eeze out slowly on the clutch pedal until it slowly grabbs other wise it will like I mentioned shimmy/shake.

Sounds like clutch chatter. Could be any number of things, but is usually contamination/oil on the clutch disk.

Sounds like clutch chatter. Could be any number of things, but is usually contamination/oil on the clutch disk.
With everything new at assembly and clean not likely an oil issue so what other things should I be looking for?

Inertia , I did have the fly wheel checked and machined and reinstalled and no real change

"New" doesn't necessarily mean "good". Several folks here found that out recently. Old clutch did not have the "shimmy/vibration"?
What condition is the pilot bushing in?
Some things you might check...…….
Loose bell/trans mounting bolts.
Fat spot on the disc.
Fingers not adjusted to same height. Bearing not contacting/releasing fingers evenly, or not attached to the fork properly.
Fork pivot bent/worn, or fork not completely on pivot.
Off center/twisted clutch plate in the cover.

Scrutinize and dress the crankshaft flange with a flat file, for any abnormality,
Pilot bushing.
If you still have old clutch, put it in for test.
What Dave said.
Good luck.

Sorry with the delay on a response, Dave I will address your suggestions and thanks for all the advice you fellas have given me , take care , Bob