408 Build Thread

-

BrianT

Here we go again...
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
Well, after talking about it for too long, it's finally time to start building my 408 stroker. I have been limping the worn out 340 in my Dart for the last seven years and it's time for it to be replaced. I am going to use this thread to document my build and will update it regularly like a blog. Hopefully this will keep me motivated.

IMG_20120720_202855.jpg

I am starting with a 91 360 roller camshaft block. This engine was bought used off of Craigslist. It started out as a 300hp Mopar Performance crate engine that I was just gonna stick in the Dart as an interim engine while I waited to build the stroker. Upon tear down, we determined that it needed more than just gaskets and rings.

The first step will be to take it to the machine shop to have the block cleaned and measured. I want to make sure that it's a good rebuildable core. If the block checks out, I will have them magnaflux it to check for cracks. I plan on using Automotive Machine and Performance in Lawrence, Kansas. Doc there is a Mopar guy and has several small block stroker builds under his belt. He comes highly recommended and I feel confident he will do a good job for me.

My plans are to buy a forged Scat rotating assembly, and have them balance it and do my block work. Heads will probably be reworked RHS heads with a roller camshaft to match the work done.

Any and all comments are welcome, and I encourage everyone to follow along. But please, stroker haters, keep your comments to yourself. I don't want this thread to turn into a pissing match and get locked. Hopefully this thread can be informative and entertaining at the same time.

Here we go...

i just finished my conversion from /6 to 408....unbelievable torque and power, no comparison to what i´ve driven before. Take this for motivation....:D

Got the same block than yours, if you have any questions let me know!

Michael