66 Dart GT HT Whatsitgonnabe?

-

360DartGT66

Not a 360 anymore
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
Hello!

First off: I'm a newbie. Never renovated a car before. Sure, I used to fix up old mopeds in my teens. Did plenty of them. From the ground up, bare metal to fresh paint and stickers, overhaul on motor and re-upholstered seat. Since then, not so much.

Went to university. Bought an old Bimmer that ran mostly on three cylinders. Rode bikes, even got a road racing license and then I had kids. And a house. And a summer house. Three kids. I'm 44.

I've always wanted a black '71 'vette 454 T-top Stingray but they're just too freaking expensive. Even if they're a rusted away piece of crap.

So I stumble across this '66 Dart GT that a dude did all the work on. He bought it in 2007, fourteen (roughly) previos owners (originally sold in Sweden), ran it as it was for a year and then started renovating it. He cut all the rust out, replaced the floor, the quarters and the part under the doors (whatever it might be called). Then he found this old guy here in Sweden called "the Baron" who builds engines. From him he bought a 1971 360 cui V8 (from an old Dodge van) with Keith Black pistons and rods, an Edelbrock LD4B intake and a Carter 9755S carburetor. He also got a high stall speed 727 and a 8 3/4" rear end with Aubrun limited slip. Don't know the gear ratio. Oh, and'he invested in an electronic ignition system and a brand new alternator.

The engine hasn't been run since it was built and neither has the trans or the rear end. As a matter of fact, neither of them have oil in them. This is a bit of concern for me. How do I know they haven't started rusting inside? As you've probably deduced by now, I'm an impulsive kind of guy. Anyoune with a dominant rational trait would've known all these things. I don't. I also don't know how what "high stall speed" actually means and I dont know much about the internal workings of a good ol' mopar V8.