67 twin turbo dart

Forced Induction Mopar

  1. AUSA66

    AUSA66 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    313
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Location:
    Perth
    Local Time:
    9:36 PM
    370 so the sensor is good
    Put a small piece of wire into the sensor plug holes check if the gauge goes to max .
    Now if it does & you say if you short the 5V side to ground it goes to max then you have an open circuit in your return ground wire .What you can do is connect a long piece of wire to 1 leg of the multimeter ,connect the other multimeter lead to the ground return wire at the dash end to find your open circuit
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Matts440

      Matts440 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      2,626
      Likes Received:
      1460
      Joined:
      Apr 11, 2014
      Location:
      Nampa, Idaho
      Local Time:
      8:36 AM
      The ground wire is brand new only added it a little bit ago and connects to the negative post I have on the firewall. Well according to speedhut when you ground the signal wire its suppose to sweep on through gauge since that's what it does is grounds out through the threads, well the other sensor did and I had a ground on the threads and on the remote oil filter mount. This new one had a ground wire in on the connector, still left the one on the filter mount. A double ground wouldn't cause any issues since they both go to batt ground, should it?
       
      • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
      • AUSA66

        AUSA66 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        240
        Likes Received:
        313
        Joined:
        Nov 20, 2014
        Location:
        Perth
        Local Time:
        9:36 PM
        Is there 2 wires coming from the meter or 1
         
      • Matts440

        Matts440 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        2,626
        Likes Received:
        1460
        Joined:
        Apr 11, 2014
        Location:
        Nampa, Idaho
        Local Time:
        8:36 AM
        There's only one wire from the gauge to the sensor.
         
      • AUSA66

        AUSA66 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        240
        Likes Received:
        313
        Joined:
        Nov 20, 2014
        Location:
        Perth
        Local Time:
        9:36 PM
        So is this a 2 pin sensor where does the second pin connect to
         
      • AUSA66

        AUSA66 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        240
        Likes Received:
        313
        Joined:
        Nov 20, 2014
        Location:
        Perth
        Local Time:
        9:36 PM
        The 2 wire sensors have no connection to the brass body so the sensing wire connects to 1 pin the other pin goes to ground I would not rely on the oil adaptor body for ground as it has a gasket at the bottom & top of the bolt connect directly to the firewall ground. If still no luck place a piece of wire in the 2 holes on the connector if it works then the pins are not contacting the pins in the temp sensor. If it does not work then the crimp on either end of the ground wire could be crimped into the plastic insulation & not the wire
         
        • Like Like x 1
        • Matts440

          Matts440 Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          2,626
          Likes Received:
          1460
          Joined:
          Apr 11, 2014
          Location:
          Nampa, Idaho
          Local Time:
          8:36 AM
          When I put the ground on the body it was on a single pin only, I'll test the connection wires on the clip part when I get home. The ground that I have to the new 2 pin sensor goes directly to the batt ground on the firewall, I'll try disconnecting the one on the filter body just for kicks, and run a single ground to just the sensor. Will check it tonight after work. Thanks for all the suggestion my friend.
           
        • AUSA66

          AUSA66 Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          240
          Likes Received:
          313
          Joined:
          Nov 20, 2014
          Location:
          Perth
          Local Time:
          9:36 PM
          Might check the grounds up at the dash end as well make sure the bodies have a good ground
           
          • Like Like x 1
          • Matts440

            Matts440 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            2,626
            Likes Received:
            1460
            Joined:
            Apr 11, 2014
            Location:
            Nampa, Idaho
            Local Time:
            8:36 AM
            I did that already, extented where I had the grounds over to the ground block that goes to battery. Just got home will check the connectors ohms.
             
          • Matts440

            Matts440 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            2,626
            Likes Received:
            1460
            Joined:
            Apr 11, 2014
            Location:
            Nampa, Idaho
            Local Time:
            8:36 AM
            Checked the connector both pins had 00.3 ohms, checked tension on the connector as well, has good tension, so I'm really confused as to why its not working. Would trimming the sensor down help you think?
             
          • AUSA66

            AUSA66 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            240
            Likes Received:
            313
            Joined:
            Nov 20, 2014
            Location:
            Perth
            Local Time:
            9:36 PM
            Not sure what you mean by trimming the sensor .
            First i would unplug both the sensors then put a wire loop into the 2 sensor holes shorting 5v to ground to prove the gauges both go to max.
            Then measure to sensor resistance doesn't matter hot or cold to prove the sensors are good
            Then plug in the sensors and measure the resistance across the 5v & ground wires to see if it matches the measured value
             
          • Matts440

            Matts440 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            2,626
            Likes Received:
            1460
            Joined:
            Apr 11, 2014
            Location:
            Nampa, Idaho
            Local Time:
            8:36 AM
            On these sensors it has a level you can cut to to make shorter if needs be. Have done both gauges when grounded does go to max reading, and goes back down when not grounded. Will do that last test you suggested, and report back.
             
          • Matts440

            Matts440 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            2,626
            Likes Received:
            1460
            Joined:
            Apr 11, 2014
            Location:
            Nampa, Idaho
            Local Time:
            8:36 AM
            Okay just checked at the sensor got 955ohms and the same with connector in place and measured those wires same resistance. Grounded both sensors again and they both went max and back down after you release the ground, odd thou the oil psi gauge doesn't drop down like the trans temp, same gauge, have to connect the signal wire and cycle the key to get it to drop down to 140 base temp reading. Wonder if that is the issue the gauge is messed up on the sweeper motor
             
          • AUSA66

            AUSA66 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            240
            Likes Received:
            313
            Joined:
            Nov 20, 2014
            Location:
            Perth
            Local Time:
            9:36 PM
            Could be a faulty gauge do you have an electronics store near you if so grab a 1000 Ohm potentiometer about 2 dollars solder 2 wires to it 1 middle & 1 outside plug the 2 wires into the sensor wire plug if you turn the pot up & down the gauge will follow up & down
            Even a pot out of an old piece of electronics will do
             
          • Matts440

            Matts440 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            2,626
            Likes Received:
            1460
            Joined:
            Apr 11, 2014
            Location:
            Nampa, Idaho
            Local Time:
            8:36 AM
            Speed hut either sending me a box or a return label to ship them my gauge for them to check it out.
             
          • Matts440

            Matts440 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            2,626
            Likes Received:
            1460
            Joined:
            Apr 11, 2014
            Location:
            Nampa, Idaho
            Local Time:
            8:36 AM
            Well pulled the two gauges to send back to Speedhut to have them check them out. So will get them sent off and update when I hear something.
             
          1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
            By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.