68 Dart blower motor identification

-

gdbuick

Reaction score
Hello,
As I bought this car used I'm still learning about it. I ordered rock auto blower motor for a non ac car AC 15-81242 as my motor spins really tight and a new heater core as I have not had heat ever, it's been bypassed. I know the picture didn't look right but I took a chance and ordered it which didn't work out. I thought maybe the motor installed inside the motor case but that's not how it works. It appears I need the motor for an AC car from the rock auto website as the picture shows the three bolt motor flange four seasons 35563. I was under the assumption I had a non ac car but the car was from California originally so that maybe where I went wrong. Can anyone confirm from my blower picture that I have an AC car blower/motor setup? I also need to find a better squirrel cage as mine is pretty warped scrapping the case. Signs inside my whole heater case that people have been playing in there before.
68 heater.jpg
blower motor wrong.jpg
blower motor ac.jpg

According to that picture your car is an A/C car, how didn't you know that with the switches you have on your dash?

According to that picture your car is an A/C car, how didn't you know that with the switches you have on your dash?
Ok thanks. I know that’s what I was thinking when I typed this I would look at the switches when I got home.

A/C cars have vacuum operated push switches while non-A/C cars have a slider.

97B8FF32-0C20-4F85-B08B-51CE36A77D19.jpeg
Interesting I’m not sure what I have. I know there is the up and down fan switch and slider levers connected to cables to the blower box I took down.
Well I was expecting to see an AC indicator /switch of some sort in the dash side but I didn’t see anything like what I was expecting to see. Maybe I have a mix match of parts. Cables from sliders and plug for fan.

Somebody swapping stuff thru the years likely hence my confusion ordering the motor.