Allstar Performance ALL54224 Throttle Cable Bracket

Fuel and Air Systems

  1. hunt2elk

    hunt2elk Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    93
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Location:
    WI
    Local Time:
    7:33 AM
    Are any of you guys using this bracket?
    My setup is a 70 Duster, 408 with an Air Gap intake, 1/2" spacer, Quick Fuel Q-750. I have been using an AR Engineering tall throttle bracket with one of those cheap Jegs dual spring return that mounts to the carb. Pretty much the same as I run on my B-body big block cars. My complaint with the Duster is a heavier throttle than my other cars. With the cable unhooked, both it and the carb work nice and smooth.
    So I bought this Allstar part to try. What length and brand of cable are you using with this bracket?

    AAF-ALL54224.jpeg
     
  2. Johnny Mac

    Johnny Mac www.blueprintengines.com FABO Vendor

    Messages:
    4,047
    Likes Received:
    3392
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Location:
    OHIO
    Local Time:
    8:33 AM
    Lokar makes a nice throttle cable. I have found that's one of the things you get what you pay for. As a dumb kid, I would go through 10 cheapo throttle cables and brackets from Mr gasket, or spectra, or ebay to "save money" before finally buying a good one that didn't fall apart in a summer, or flex so bad it didn't even get full throttle.
     
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
    • Demonx2

      Demonx2 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      736
      Likes Received:
      1338
      Joined:
      Dec 10, 2019
      Location:
      Michigan
      Local Time:
      8:33 AM
      I have one on my car and it works fine. You can adjust the spring tension and you still have the needed 2 return springs. I use a stock throttle cable. I did trim the corner a tad where it was hitting the rad hose but no biggie. Here it was when I was nearing build completion.

      20201212_173028.jpg
       
      • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • RustyRatRod

        RustyRatRod I was born on a Monday. Not last Monday. FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        81,581
        Likes Received:
        61241
        Joined:
        Jun 7, 2010
        Location:
        Georgia
        Local Time:
        8:33 AM
        I have one very similar on my slant 6. It works well.
         
        • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
        • dano

          dano Evil Handy Man

          Messages:
          4,149
          Likes Received:
          1997
          Joined:
          Aug 22, 2005
          Location:
          Gresham, Oregon
          Local Time:
          5:33 AM
          I bought that one and it didn't fit my stock cable end. I contacted them that is was too small and they didn't care, even after offering to take measurements so they could correct their product. I ended up buying the GM end and getting a Lokar cable. I have a Stealth and Quick Fuel SS 650. Grease the pivot that mounts to the carb throttle lever.
           
          • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
          • mopardude318

            mopardude318 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            10,250
            Likes Received:
            1922
            Joined:
            Jan 7, 2005
            Location:
            Gilroy, Ca
            Local Time:
            5:33 AM
            I’ve never used this style but I’m pretty sure I need to run one with my supercharger, and change to a Lokar cable to make it work. I’m not sure of another way.

            3E316452-91DB-45BD-876E-425BFB1C376D.png

            FFF27E6C-B6D6-41E0-A3B4-DFB8A4055E93.png
             
            • Like Like x 3
            • hunt2elk

              hunt2elk Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              315
              Likes Received:
              93
              Joined:
              May 19, 2010
              Location:
              WI
              Local Time:
              7:33 AM
              Yeah, I saw the Lokar cables. If I knew I needed a different cable I would have definitely went that route. This model has the back mount that accepts a Mopar cable, so at this point I would have to replace that as well.
               
            • hunt2elk

              hunt2elk Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              315
              Likes Received:
              93
              Joined:
              May 19, 2010
              Location:
              WI
              Local Time:
              7:33 AM
              I couldn't get my cable into it either, if that is what you are referring to. The slot comes 1/16". I had to take a die grinder and open it up to 1/8" because that is the diameter of my cable with a plastic sheath around it.
               
            • hunt2elk

              hunt2elk Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              315
              Likes Received:
              93
              Joined:
              May 19, 2010
              Location:
              WI
              Local Time:
              7:33 AM
              I will mess with mine more today, but am having a hard time seeing how my cable is going to work. Any chance you remember the length of yours is? Or could you measure how long the black plastic sheath is from the firewall to the carb end is? Whatever you have I believe would work on mine.
               
            • Ricks70Duster340

              Ricks70Duster340 Child of the King FABO Gold Member

              Messages:
              676
              Likes Received:
              461
              Joined:
              Feb 8, 2021
              Location:
              Sisterdale, TX
              Local Time:
              7:33 AM
              When I got my BPE 408, I also used the Lokar throttle & KD cables with the carb bracket. Installation was easy and works great. Sure beats messing with trying to make the OE type KD linkage work! Only mod I had to make was to install a spring at the KD lever on the trans to pull the lever back forward after the throttle is returned to idle. Easy 10 minute job.
               
              • Like Like x 1
              • Darter6

                Darter6 Well-Known Member

                Messages:
                4,870
                Likes Received:
                2266
                Joined:
                Jan 16, 2008
                Location:
                Nevada
                Local Time:
                5:33 AM
                Jegs has 'um too
                IMG_1933.jpg
                 
              • hunt2elk

                hunt2elk Well-Known Member

                Messages:
                315
                Likes Received:
                93
                Joined:
                May 19, 2010
                Location:
                WI
                Local Time:
                7:33 AM
              • Demonx2

                Demonx2 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                Messages:
                736
                Likes Received:
                1338
                Joined:
                Dec 10, 2019
                Location:
                Michigan
                Local Time:
                8:33 AM
                Sure - when I get to my pc later today, I'll look up the cable I used. I researched several of them and should have p/n's available. I'll get back to you soon.
                 
                • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
                • hunt2elk

                  hunt2elk Well-Known Member

                  Messages:
                  315
                  Likes Received:
                  93
                  Joined:
                  May 19, 2010
                  Location:
                  WI
                  Local Time:
                  7:33 AM
                  I can't tell in your pic, but is this where you have the cable stud on yours?

                  20211112_074722.jpg
                   
                • Demonx2

                  Demonx2 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                  Messages:
                  736
                  Likes Received:
                  1338
                  Joined:
                  Dec 10, 2019
                  Location:
                  Michigan
                  Local Time:
                  8:33 AM
                  Forgot I had my laptop with me...lol. So I went back through my build thread and am sharing this info to maybe help you and any others that might be working in the throttle cable area. This info is all from my work on my 72 Demon (my avatar car). It's a 408 using a Super Victor intake and 850 DP carb. So keep in mind this intake is pretty tall!

                  I ended up using the a throttle cable I got through Summit: Pioneer CA-8420. But I had called the company that makes them and the fella I spoke to was kind enough to actually go measure some for me. I also ordered some of them and measured them myself. (Like many things, I probably overthink this stuff but when you're in a build and parts won't work, I tend to dig in and try to learn more than I need to know about the issue!) I put that info in the sketch and table below. The bracket you're asking about is sold by several brands - Summit, Jegs, AllStar, etc, etc. And they come in several colors too if you like that. I think mine is just the natural finish Summit part. The nice thing is you can adjust the attachment point where the cable attaches and slide it forward or rearward to be sure you can get the carb to open the blades all the way.

                  In the first column by the part number, I note whether the part that mates to the firewall is the round (uses a push-on clip) or the square (has plastic fingers that expand to hold tot he firewall). The last 2 cables were some I happened to have laying around. Anyhow - good luck. Hope this helps you!
                  upload_2021-11-12_8-52-4.png
                   
                  • Like Like x 1
                  • Demonx2

                    Demonx2 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                    Messages:
                    736
                    Likes Received:
                    1338
                    Joined:
                    Dec 10, 2019
                    Location:
                    Michigan
                    Local Time:
                    8:33 AM
                    Here's a zoomed in pic...sorry it's fuzzy. I used the large hole in the throttle arm as they give you a bushing that prevents any binding as the throttle articulates back. Yes, the cable's clevis essentially does that function too but this fit, it's higher on the carb arm which means less force on the cable, and with the adjustability of the bracket, it all works well.
                    20211112_090346.jpg
                     
                  • Darter6

                    Darter6 Well-Known Member

                    Messages:
                    4,870
                    Likes Received:
                    2266
                    Joined:
                    Jan 16, 2008
                    Location:
                    Nevada
                    Local Time:
                    5:33 AM
                    Factory Slant Six cable. Worked well.
                     
                    • Agree Agree x 1
                    • hunt2elk

                      hunt2elk Well-Known Member

                      Messages:
                      315
                      Likes Received:
                      93
                      Joined:
                      May 19, 2010
                      Location:
                      WI
                      Local Time:
                      7:33 AM
                      Thanks for all your help. Just measured the cable I had on the car which came from Endenberg. It is only 18.75 long, so that is my problem. I like how you hooked up your cable to the linkage. Where did you get the adapter to do that? My aluminum block is 1/4 fine thread and then it would need the small stem for the cable. Or did you drill out those threads and use something else?
                       
                    • hunt2elk

                      hunt2elk Well-Known Member

                      Messages:
                      315
                      Likes Received:
                      93
                      Joined:
                      May 19, 2010
                      Location:
                      WI
                      Local Time:
                      7:33 AM
                      A cable from one of my B-bodies. A touch to long, but with everything hooked up or is nice and smooth. I think an original A body cable will work, just have to find one.

                      20211112_160402.jpg
                       
                    • RustyRatRod

                      RustyRatRod I was born on a Monday. Not last Monday. FABO Gold Member

                      Messages:
                      81,581
                      Likes Received:
                      61241
                      Joined:
                      Jun 7, 2010
                      Location:
                      Georgia
                      Local Time:
                      8:33 AM
                      On mine, I cut the clamp part off an original Chrysler cable bracket and just bolted it right to the new bracket. That way I didn't need a fancy expensive Lokar cable.
                       
                    • RustyRatRod

                      RustyRatRod I was born on a Monday. Not last Monday. FABO Gold Member

                      Messages:
                      81,581
                      Likes Received:
                      61241
                      Joined:
                      Jun 7, 2010
                      Location:
                      Georgia
                      Local Time:
                      8:33 AM
                      I don't see the physics behind how you're getting full throttle with that. The cable where it clamps into the bracket is well above the pivot point on the throttle lever. With where it's connected at the carburetor, that point will well below the center line of the primary throttle shaft before it's at full throttle. Have you tested it to see if it's opening all the way?
                       
                    • RustyRatRod

                      RustyRatRod I was born on a Monday. Not last Monday. FABO Gold Member

                      Messages:
                      81,581
                      Likes Received:
                      61241
                      Joined:
                      Jun 7, 2010
                      Location:
                      Georgia
                      Local Time:
                      8:33 AM
                      Do you have your exhaust hooked up? I would love some pictures of how the head pipes snake past the Z bar and "all that".
                       
                    • hunt2elk

                      hunt2elk Well-Known Member

                      Messages:
                      315
                      Likes Received:
                      93
                      Joined:
                      May 19, 2010
                      Location:
                      WI
                      Local Time:
                      7:33 AM
                      Have not tested to see if it opens all the way, but I don't like the looks of it either. Demonx2 has the setup I really like, but not certain how he made it work.
                       
                    • RustyRatRod

                      RustyRatRod I was born on a Monday. Not last Monday. FABO Gold Member

                      Messages:
                      81,581
                      Likes Received:
                      61241
                      Joined:
                      Jun 7, 2010
                      Location:
                      Georgia
                      Local Time:
                      8:33 AM
                      I wanna know how you got the cable through that slot? I have another one just like that and my stock cable is too big for the slot.
                       
                    • hunt2elk

                      hunt2elk Well-Known Member

                      Messages:
                      315
                      Likes Received:
                      93
                      Joined:
                      May 19, 2010
                      Location:
                      WI
                      Local Time:
                      7:33 AM
                      Took a die grinder with a 1/8" wheel to it. It came with a 1/16" slot.
                       
                    1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
                      By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.