Another 17" LX Wheel Thread

-

1975abody

Reaction score
Had a 70 mph blowout on the freeway with one of the 14" Unitoyal Tiger Paws on the daily driver Scamp. As I was changing the tire on the side of the freeway, I thought hmmm maybe now is a good time to start shopping for the 17" wheel/tire options I've been pondering for several months.

So I took the 18" space saver spare out the wife's 2012 300 and mounted it up.

I know there's been much debate about the bolt pattern of LX wheels, but they sure look like 4.5" spacing with the correct register size too.

I ordered a 939-137 Dorman replacement wheel to determine what size tire I will need. Stay tuned.

6185E6AE-C96D-49D2-8FEB-854EEA129EE6.jpeg

54FD0620-8525-4D69-8BC2-8F5F0F850E7C.jpeg

Some are 5x114.3, which is the same as 5x4.5”.

Later ones are 5x115, which is NOT the same. I don’t know exactly what year the change happened, but all the new stuff is 5x115.

Summit calls them out as 5x4.5, for up to model year 2011,but the wheels on the wife’s 2012 certainly appear to fit perfectly on the Scamp,so we’ll see....

run 3 more of those, painted body color with some sort of trim ring and chrome nuts, then slam it. :)

Just some metric conversion info. .0393701 is the conversion number. It gets rounded up to .04 by most users. I use the whole number. Either multiply, or divide.
Dave

Fitting up a tire size now. Made a cardboard template 13" from the center of the hub to get an idea of the clearance there would be with a 26" tall tire. It's a no go on the rear of the front fender lip as it sweeps through. The front edge of the fender has 1/4" of clearance. Was hoping to go with a 26" tire to avoid the rubber band look.

02CA65AC-E4FC-40C7-AA6F-5EC2C2EECB05.jpeg

I ran 225/60/15's on my '74 Duster, they're 25.6" tall. It was close, but nothing hit. 26" is usually the upper limit for tire height unless your run really narrow tires with a lot of backspace, or modify the front fender openings.

IMG_3620.jpg