Anyone running the lunati 703 voodoo cam?

Small Block Mopar Engine

  1. MerlinsMopar

    MerlinsMopar FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    395
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Location:
    Middletown Pa
    Local Time:
    9:40 AM
    I am building another 340 thats now .040 over 10.2 compression with scat rods and 65cc j heads with 2.02s and I bought the lunati cam after talking with them, it seemed like the way to go. I also got the springs and lifter package with comp cams 1.5 rockers.
    I have always ran purple shafts or racer brown cams but ran into vacuum issues with the brake booster so this cam was supposed to have decent vacuum for the brakes but perform well also.
    Anyone that used the 703 voodoo chime in on your thoughts please. I don't want to install this cam if it isn't up to par. My resto has power brakes and they have to stay that way.
    Thanks!!!
     
  2. yellow rose

    yellow rose Overnight Sensation FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    27,277
    Likes Received:
    23510
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Location:
    Central Washington
    Local Time:
    6:40 AM
    Honestly, I solved that issue decades ago. I just convert everything over to manual brakes and never look back.

    They actually stop better IMO.

    Having said that, I’ve never used that cam, but the numbers LOOK power brake friendly.
     
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • MerlinsMopar

      MerlinsMopar FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      368
      Likes Received:
      395
      Joined:
      Jun 6, 2014
      Location:
      Middletown Pa
      Local Time:
      9:40 AM
      I am keeping it that way due to being a numbers matching car. I guess you have to sacrifice 1 for the other. Stock cam just isn't going to cut it tho.
       
      • Agree Agree x 2
      • dano

        dano Evil Handy Man

        Messages:
        3,527
        Likes Received:
        1411
        Joined:
        Aug 22, 2005
        Location:
        Gresham, Oregon
        Local Time:
        6:40 AM
        I have that cam and honestly its marginal. I think I get around 15" at idle so you may need a vacuum reservoir.
         
      • rumblefish360

        rumblefish360 So close, yet so far away FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        39,977
        Likes Received:
        11520
        Joined:
        Jun 21, 2005
        Location:
        New York, on a Island
        Local Time:
        9:40 AM
        Link to actual cam specs?
         
      • cawcislo

        cawcislo Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        338
        Likes Received:
        217
        Joined:
        Aug 7, 2018
        Location:
        Ontario, Canada
        Local Time:
        9:40 AM
        I believe that cam is 226/234 @0.050, .494/.513 lift, 110 LSA.
         
      • MerlinsMopar

        MerlinsMopar FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        368
        Likes Received:
        395
        Joined:
        Jun 6, 2014
        Location:
        Middletown Pa
        Local Time:
        9:40 AM
        Thats the specs!
         
      • MerlinsMopar

        MerlinsMopar FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        368
        Likes Received:
        395
        Joined:
        Jun 6, 2014
        Location:
        Middletown Pa
        Local Time:
        9:40 AM
        Does it make good power? How is the lope?
         
      • yellow rose

        yellow rose Overnight Sensation FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        27,277
        Likes Received:
        23510
        Joined:
        Jun 19, 2015
        Location:
        Central Washington
        Local Time:
        6:40 AM

        Seems like 15 inches should run the brakes...but it’s been a long time since I’ve had to deal with that. Seems like once you got down to 10ish inches of vacuum was when things got sketchy.
         
        • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
        • Disagree Disagree x 1
        • sireland67

          sireland67 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

          Messages:
          9,467
          Likes Received:
          3688
          Joined:
          Oct 27, 2010
          Location:
          WV
          Local Time:
          9:40 AM
          I have that cam in my 340, it makes 15" it is an ok cam, does have a decent lope.
          I have manual disk brakes, but it should pull enough for a booster.
           
        • dano

          dano Evil Handy Man

          Messages:
          3,527
          Likes Received:
          1411
          Joined:
          Aug 22, 2005
          Location:
          Gresham, Oregon
          Local Time:
          6:40 AM
          I've driven it very little with issues not related to the cam and just got the car running again but it need aligned and the carb tuned to be driven. Lope if fair, it's there and noticeable but not the "I'm ready to die at any point" lope.
           
        • MerlinsMopar

          MerlinsMopar FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

          Messages:
          368
          Likes Received:
          395
          Joined:
          Jun 6, 2014
          Location:
          Middletown Pa
          Local Time:
          9:40 AM
           
        • sireland67

          sireland67 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

          Messages:
          9,467
          Likes Received:
          3688
          Joined:
          Oct 27, 2010
          Location:
          WV
          Local Time:
          9:40 AM
          It makes decent power, not much low end though, but I only have 3.23 gears and a 4-speed.
           
          • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
          • dano

            dano Evil Handy Man

            Messages:
            3,527
            Likes Received:
            1411
            Joined:
            Aug 22, 2005
            Location:
            Gresham, Oregon
            Local Time:
            6:40 AM
            Same here. Last power brake vehicle I built a engine for had a pretty mild cam (20" at idle) for 1/2 ton 4x4 truck application. I think booster size matters too, small boosters might be less efficient.
             
            • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
            • Jax340Dart

              Jax340Dart Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              81
              Likes Received:
              41
              Joined:
              Aug 28, 2015
              Location:
              Albion Pa
              Local Time:
              8:40 AM
              I run a 703 in my 340. With the initial at 16* it is at 12-13" of vacuum and it does have a decent lope. I run manual brakes
               
              • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
              • dartfreak75

                dartfreak75 Restore it, Dont part it! FABO Gold Member

                Messages:
                9,498
                Likes Received:
                7060
                Joined:
                Aug 10, 2011
                Location:
                Virginia
                Local Time:
                9:40 AM
                Im going with the 702 in my 360 with similar combo. It's supposed to have good vacuum for power brakes.

                20201126_214344.jpg
                 
                • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
                • dartfreak75

                  dartfreak75 Restore it, Dont part it! FABO Gold Member

                  Messages:
                  9,498
                  Likes Received:
                  7060
                  Joined:
                  Aug 10, 2011
                  Location:
                  Virginia
                  Local Time:
                  9:40 AM
                  I will tell you how I came to my decision on the 702, the 703 was my first choice and I talked to my machinist who is a cam wizard and he was looking at the @50 duration he said I'd like to see that number a touch lower for your combo, so I showed him the 702 which was my 2nd choice. He said thats the winner in my book! We talked and discussed 50 other cams and he said I think your best with the lunati. He told me whenever im planning an engine build and going through the motions to pick the cam i like the best and go one size smaller. For a street car of course im sure racing cars is a different process.
                   
                  • Like Like x 1
                  • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
                  • Syleng1

                    Syleng1 Karma is real and Life is short... FABO Gold Member

                    Messages:
                    1,967
                    Likes Received:
                    1557
                    Joined:
                    Jul 5, 2005
                    Location:
                    North Franklin, CT
                    Local Time:
                    9:40 AM
                    Yes I have the 703 in my 340 4 speed with 3.91 gears. 15” of vac with tq LD340 dual plane intake and headers. Sounds good, lots of pull and I’m all in with 35 degrees of timing. I could add a few more degrees but it got cold out and I got lazy. Lol!
                     
                    • Like Like x 1
                    • yellow rose

                      yellow rose Overnight Sensation FABO Gold Member

                      Messages:
                      27,277
                      Likes Received:
                      23510
                      Joined:
                      Jun 19, 2015
                      Location:
                      Central Washington
                      Local Time:
                      6:40 AM

                      With power brakes? If so, is stopping power reduced?
                       
                      • Disagree Disagree x 1
                      • Hellrats

                        Hellrats Just another dumbass FABO Gold Member

                        Messages:
                        1,388
                        Likes Received:
                        1114
                        Joined:
                        Jan 24, 2012
                        Location:
                        N.E. Ohio
                        Local Time:
                        9:40 AM
                        I run that can in a 360 with a 3.55 gear, 17*initial timing, 35 total. A custom built 3500 stall converter with power brakes and A/C. Brakes work fine. I had to make a throttle kicker to kick up the idle with the A/C on but it works. That cam runs great on the street but the A/C kills it. Your power brakes will work fine. You do need more converter, at least something around a 2500 stall. I'm not a fan of Lunati's super heavy spring pressure so I went a different route but I'm running W2 heads with long valves so I have more to choose from. It will pull good from around 1600 to 6200 rpms. So yes, your brakes should be fine. Hope this helps.
                         
                        • Like Like x 1
                        • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
                        • MerlinsMopar

                          MerlinsMopar FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                          Messages:
                          368
                          Likes Received:
                          395
                          Joined:
                          Jun 6, 2014
                          Location:
                          Middletown Pa
                          Local Time:
                          9:40 AM
                          I questioned why I needed dual springs for that cam. Seems like they would beat the seats up into the head after a while. I have a 4 speed with 3.23 gear but might change the gear to 3.55 or so being that I like to launch from stop signs etc. I will have to talk to my machinist about that. I am running a racer brown ssh-44 in my other motor and love that cam. I know it wouldn't work the brakes tho, hence the lunati. This is the reason that I posted the thread and all the info is really appreciated. Thanks for your reply!
                           
                        • Hellrats

                          Hellrats Just another dumbass FABO Gold Member

                          Messages:
                          1,388
                          Likes Received:
                          1114
                          Joined:
                          Jan 24, 2012
                          Location:
                          N.E. Ohio
                          Local Time:
                          9:40 AM
                          You will need the dual springs so you don't float the valves but I really don't think you need the seat pressure that they call for. But on that note, yeah talk to you machinist and let him make the call. That's what I did and he was correct. You'll have fun with that cam and a 4 speed!
                           
                        • yellow rose

                          yellow rose Overnight Sensation FABO Gold Member

                          Messages:
                          27,277
                          Likes Received:
                          23510
                          Joined:
                          Jun 19, 2015
                          Location:
                          Central Washington
                          Local Time:
                          6:40 AM
                          More valve seats have been killed from too little spring load than too much. When the valve hits the seat it needs to hit it once. If the spring load isn’t enough for the mass of the valve train and the valve hits the seat and bounces it will pound the valve job right out of right quick.

                          I had a cam grinder tell me several years back if it was possible to get a spring with 340 pounds on the seat and 340 over the nose that’s all he’d use. That of course is impossible but his point was seat pressure won’t kill a flat tappet cam. The over the nose load will, but not seat load.
                           
                        • rumblefish360

                          rumblefish360 So close, yet so far away FABO Gold Member

                          Messages:
                          39,977
                          Likes Received:
                          11520
                          Joined:
                          Jun 21, 2005
                          Location:
                          New York, on a Island
                          Local Time:
                          9:40 AM
                          Thanks cawcislo, I run the Hyd. roller Comp version. Lunati seemed to have a stuck on stupid piss poor attitude towards getting me THAT exact cam to me for a LA and kept sending me a Magnum version for my LA block. Then they didn’t want to refund my money for a couple of months.
                          I managed the best of 17-ish inches of vacuum. I run manual brakes & steering. So a NEED for vacuum wasn’t there. But it’s better to get all you can.
                          DF443940-1A64-4DC5-B30F-3AE4389609D7.jpeg
                           
                        1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
                          By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.