Beginner Question: How to tell 273LA from 318?

-

Grumpy Pete

Reaction score
Admittedly, I am relatively new to mopar restoration. I purchased a 65' barracuda about two months ago under the pretenses that this was the original 273 but am starting to think I have been bamboozled!

That being said, I am not sure how to tell if it has been swapped without pulling it out. Anyone able to help? I can get your any additional information you might need but lets start with couple images.

image2.jpeg
image1.png

Look on the block just below the head for a letter and numbers as well locate the casting number on the side of the block. Let us know what you find.

The air cleaner is from a later car!

Last edited:
Driver side of block.
7D220856-2E8B-4860-B7E0-BA0D67349706.jpeg
Thats where i found numbers on my block. Pretty clear what mine is....

hi, I looked at my 3 273 blocks, one has 273 cast on drivers side. the other blocks do not. on the left front of block, below the head is stamped R 273, all my blocks have that. also, I notice you have a high rise intake, 273 intakes were flat.

Chime in if anyone has seen different but I don't think I have seen a 318 block that didn't have the 318 cast into it.

Also, about that intake, the angle of the bolts attaching to the heads, shouldn't it be not this? Or is 65 already the newer angle?

Also, about that intake, the angle of the bolts attaching to the heads, shouldn't it be not this? Or is 65 already the newer angle?
Very observant. I finally got off my phone and onto a larger screen. It looks like the bolt heads are at a right angle to the head surface. If that is the case, it has a non-original engine, a 66 or newer 273or a 318. A good engine whichever one you have.

should the intake be a single plane not the duel intake shown?

Yes, if it was a Commando to start with it should be a single plane 4 barrell. Those came out in 65.