best way to fix rust around rear window

-

racyroy1

Reaction score
Hello all:
I have a 72 scamp with alot of rust around the rear window at the bottom corners and the flat part of the fender by the corners. My question to all of you is what is the best way to repair? Find a donor car and use its corners, or shape some new steel? I'm kinda new at the entire removal and replacement of steel. If the doner car is the way to go how much do i cut out and if the new steel is the way do I have a professional do it. Now that ya kinda know what i'm looking at, any and all info would be appreciated.

thanks

kevin.

Kevin, if areas are flat you can just cut out and use flat sheet metal to replace. If rusted areas are angled with patterns in them it would probably be best to cut that area out of a donor car. Cut off more than you need from donor car to be sure you have enough to replace your rusted area. You can always trim piece down once you have it. Sometimes if rust is near a factory seam, it may be better to go to the seam with replacement metal. You should take some pics and post them here. There are quite a few body people here that can better advise you if they can see whats needed. Mike

hey thanks Mike.
Here are the areas that are in question.

P1010001.JPG

P1010002.JPG

P1010003.JPG

Those are going to hard spots to fabricate. Your best bet is to fins a donor car to cut the metal from. Look for a car that doesnt have a Vinyl top otherwise you may end up with more of the same.

I agree with Adam. Take your grinder and clean area around rust to be sure where it ends, and then cut a couple of inches larger from donor car and then taking your time, trim new piece to fit properly and attach it. Do you have a welder and welding skills?

once again thanks a lot