butt welding exhaust system

-

Darren

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
Hey guys I got a flowmaster 2.5 exhaust system that will need some welding is it ok to butt weld the joints in a few spots? Thanks

I butt welded some of my last system but I always wondered about for my new system. Good point about the header welding Dave

Shouldn't be an issue. I've done it with MIG and oxy acetylene and the weld is almost always stronger than the parent material.

I make rings of the next larger size pipe (1/8" larger) or "C"s (cut off a ring, then slice the ring to make a C of it so it slips over the pipe) of the same size pipe because I suck at butt welding............

Wow, all this full weld this and that makes me feel like a chump.

I didn't weld mine fully; from header reducer to 2' after full welded x pipe, so I can drop it out as an assembly when/if the trans explodes; or something else changes like it always does; it's clamped the rest of the way to and after the muffler 4 tacks on each tube after and exhaust hangars hold the rear exits. No fume issues.

Butt-welding exhaust is hilarious to me, but whatever. So is painting the underside of the car so it can get rock rash. I'm worn out from my build thread no one looks at because it's 'body work'; so I won't feel like I haven't "put in my time".

Good luck, hope you have a lift, and be ready for pinhole chasing all day. I'd advise doing the system in two parts tacked up so you can remove it and weld it up, and service the front section without having to struggle.

I don't clamp it, I weld on flanges so the exhaust is in sections...............

So I see no one on this thread knows how to butt weld correctly.

So I see no one on this thread knows how to butt weld correctly.