Buyer beware...

-

Lars

Reaction score
I bought the 383 that is in my Dart about a year ago from a guy named Steve Caladar in FT Worth,TX. I was told that it ran well, didn't smoke and was ready to run (supposedly 12's in a light Chally). Well, it sat for about 8 months before I could get it in the car (I kept it taped up and oiled). I've been fighting it for the last five months trying to get it to run right. Well I ran a compression test on it this past weekend and it only put out 120PSI on the best cylinder, worst was 102PSI. I know everybody has a different opinion on what "runs well" but I think this is kinda pushing it. Just an FYI...

L.D.

Not to sound like an ***, or unsympathetic. But How much did you pay for the motor? I understand you were told that it "Ran great" before you bought it. But I personally would have re-ringed it and put some new bearings in it at the least. Just to be sure.

If you did all that, and it has a bad head or block. Sorry. I have a big mouth ;)

and how about a pic of that 72 :)

Won it on Ebay, it was running in a car three days before I picked it up (according to him). I didn't really question it much because I'd had a couple of small blocks (318's) that had been mothballed for 4+ years with no up keep done and they ran perfect when pressed back into service. I'm gonna yank the heads and go through the motor, if it needs a rebuild I'll just redo one of my 440's instead, but it's a major setback since I don't have the $$ for that anyhow. I have a couple pics of the 72, but it's ugly. I was hoping to start on it this year, but it doesn't look like it's going to happen now. :(

BTW: I'm not looking for a pity party, just wanted to warn others, he sold me a distributor that was supposed to be good also that turned out to be junk...

I'm sorry to hear about that. I wasn't trying to be a jerk ;) just making conversation. Wish you the best of luck, maybe it's a quick fix.