Carb and throttle cable help

Mopar General Discussions

  1. Jeremiah David

    Jeremiah David Active Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Location:
    Colorado
    Local Time:
    2:54 PM
    I'm having trouble getting the throttle cable hooked up to my new carb. Problem is throttle cable is to long. When the cable should be going back, as of you let off the gas, the cable bends up and doesn't go all the way back in.

    My question is should I cut the cable and use a new clamp to hold the cable, or do I buy a new shorter one?

    Specs

    1973 Plymouth Duster
    72 360 out of a cuda
    Edlebrock 1406 carb

    IMG_20190531_160327.jpg IMG_20190531_160359.jpg IMG_20190531_160351.jpg IMG_20190531_160339.jpg
     
  2. hoosierdaddy

    hoosierdaddy FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    195
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Location:
    Central Indiana
    Local Time:
    4:54 PM
    I don't see the clamp for your throttle cable , without it your cable housing will move and not allow the throttle to work .
     
  3. Jeremiah David

    Jeremiah David Active Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Location:
    Colorado
    Local Time:
    2:54 PM
    I disconnected it for now, but I have the clips and all that were used on the old carb. I have it laying there to show how much further the cable goes past the linkage.
     
  4. hoosierdaddy

    hoosierdaddy FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    195
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Location:
    Central Indiana
    Local Time:
    4:54 PM
    Just curious what the cable is suppose to fit ? You can modify what you have , I believe all you would is an adjustable fitting at the carburetor end or just buy a Lokar style throttle cable .
     
  5. Jeremiah David

    Jeremiah David Active Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Location:
    Colorado
    Local Time:
    2:54 PM
    I am pretty sure it's the stock cable. It was hooked up to my old carb, but they had the excess cable by the firewall. When I try to do what was done before it keeps bending the cable.

    I have a connection to run the cable through if I cut it, but just not sure I want to do that.
     
  6. Murray

    Murray FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    646
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    Local Time:
    1:54 PM
    Remember this is an adjustment at the cable clamp. Pull the cable back towards the firewall to remove any freeplay and then tighten the clamp. This "sets" the length of the cable between the clamp and the carb. You may also need an adapter for Mopar linkage.
     
  7. Jeremiah David

    Jeremiah David Active Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Location:
    Colorado
    Local Time:
    2:54 PM
    I had put it in the clamp and pulled slack, but it was still giving me issues. I'll look into the linkage though.
     
  8. tonysrt

    tonysrt FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    201
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Location:
    Northport, NY
    Local Time:
    4:54 PM
    Was that an original 318 engine car? I have a 74 original 318, put a 4bbl manifold on and throttle cable worked for me. I switched from 2bbl manifold to 4bbl.
     
  9. jaws

    jaws I put the fun in dysfunctional FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    3,192
    Likes Received:
    1432
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Strasburg Colorado
    Local Time:
    3:54 PM
    Looks like a slant cable. Dos you have the bracket that bolts to the intake?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Mike69cuda

      Mike69cuda 64 is the new 17 FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      778
      Likes Received:
      517
      Joined:
      Jan 2, 2018
      Location:
      Overland Park Kansas
      Local Time:
      3:54 PM
      There are a lot of threads on here about this issue. They were very helpful when I did mine.

      The cable looks too long. Maybe a /6 as mentioned earlier. If it has been kinking it is time to throw it away. Very dangerous to use a damaged throttle cable.

      I don’t see a kick down rod so I assume it is a stick. That makes life easier. Mancini racing sells a 4 barrel bracket that can replace the one on your engine if yours was originally a 2 barrel. Guys on here probably have them too. This maybe needed if you run a stock cable.

      There is a mopar specific u shaped throttle bracket for a Holley, don’t know if would fit yours. Probably not needed if you have a stick as I think it is designed mostly for the kick down linkage on an auto. I have one I didn’t use I will give you if you want it, but I don’t think it will help.

      Looks like the easiest way may be to get a Lokar cable as suggested above. I looked at them but didn’t buy as they are very pricey.
       
    • RPMagoo

      RPMagoo Just An Old Motorhead

      Messages:
      2,802
      Likes Received:
      1273
      Joined:
      Nov 4, 2015
      Location:
      N.E. Pa.
      Local Time:
      3:54 PM
      I have 3. All different lengths. -- The middle one is different, on the firewall end. --- Throttle Cable - 2.JPG
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • H22A4

        H22A4 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        1,611
        Likes Received:
        483
        Joined:
        Aug 4, 2006
        Location:
        YVR
        Local Time:
        1:54 PM
        Once you have your throttle cable issue figured out be sure to ditch that rubber fuel line to your carb. That’s a disater waiting to happen.... fuel, hot engine and that rubber hose is going to melt/spring a leak which will mess up that nicely painted engine!
         
      • JoeSBP

        JoeSBP RLTW!

        Messages:
        1,208
        Likes Received:
        645
        Joined:
        Jun 16, 2015
        Location:
        NC
        Local Time:
        4:54 PM
      • Jeremiah David

        Jeremiah David Active Member

        Messages:
        30
        Likes Received:
        13
        Joined:
        May 17, 2017
        Location:
        Colorado
        Local Time:
        2:54 PM
        It's only there until I can get a fuel rail.
         
      • tonysrt

        tonysrt FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        524
        Likes Received:
        201
        Joined:
        Dec 25, 2016
        Location:
        Northport, NY
        Local Time:
        4:54 PM
        He never responded to what engine was in the car previously.
         
      • Jeremiah David

        Jeremiah David Active Member

        Messages:
        30
        Likes Received:
        13
        Joined:
        May 17, 2017
        Location:
        Colorado
        Local Time:
        2:54 PM
        Sorry I work nights and got off at 6 am this morning. Yes the original was the 318 in the car.
         
      • AJ/FormS

        AJ/FormS 68 B'cuda fb, Form S clone ... 367/A833/3.55s FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        16,302
        Likes Received:
        5068
        Joined:
        Jan 19, 2014
        Location:
        South-Central Manitoba,Canada, 900ftelevation
        Local Time:
        3:54 PM
        That carb linkage ain't Mopar either, and the front spring-anchor is way too low and the rear bracket looks like a 2bbl to me, and is also too low. You'll be wearing out your carb's baseplate in no time.I don't see the Vcan hooked up either. and I never saw a PCV hose that looked like a fuel line, engine vacuum and head will conspire to suck fuel-line flat.
        img_20190531_160351-jpg.jpg
         
        Last edited: Jun 1, 2019
      • Jeremiah David

        Jeremiah David Active Member

        Messages:
        30
        Likes Received:
        13
        Joined:
        May 17, 2017
        Location:
        Colorado
        Local Time:
        2:54 PM
        So I have a lot to learn still. I was matching up how the guy I got it from had the Holley hooked up. What am I doing wrong and what do I need to fix? Sorry if it's to many questions, but I want to make sure I do it right. This is the first time I've swapped a carb.
         
      • Jeremiah David

        Jeremiah David Active Member

        Messages:
        30
        Likes Received:
        13
        Joined:
        May 17, 2017
        Location:
        Colorado
        Local Time:
        2:54 PM
        The carb I pulled off was a Holley 750cfm 4 barrel. I wanted something smaller that would work with engine better. I'm looking at ordering a new throttle cable somebody posted up in here as well.
         
      • AJ/FormS

        AJ/FormS 68 B'cuda fb, Form S clone ... 367/A833/3.55s FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        16,302
        Likes Received:
        5068
        Joined:
        Jan 19, 2014
        Location:
        South-Central Manitoba,Canada, 900ftelevation
        Local Time:
        3:54 PM
        • Agree Agree x 1
        • Jeremiah David

          Jeremiah David Active Member

          Messages:
          30
          Likes Received:
          13
          Joined:
          May 17, 2017
          Location:
          Colorado
          Local Time:
          2:54 PM
        • Mattax

          Mattax Just the facts, ma'am FABO Gold Member

          Messages:
          7,000
          Likes Received:
          3966
          Joined:
          Feb 7, 2013
          Location:
          Phila. Pa
          Local Time:
          4:54 PM
          Those parts should be on the holley you removed.
          You can transfer them.
          I don't know if the will transfer to the new Eddy thats on your engine.
          The stud probably yes. The extension might need to be an Edlebrock version.
           
        • Jeremiah David

          Jeremiah David Active Member

          Messages:
          30
          Likes Received:
          13
          Joined:
          May 17, 2017
          Location:
          Colorado
          Local Time:
          2:54 PM
          I'll post pictures of the Holley when I get up. I work nights and just got home from work.
           
        • Johnny Dart

          Johnny Dart Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          7,407
          Likes Received:
          1572
          Joined:
          Nov 30, 2006
          Location:
          So Cal
          Local Time:
          1:54 PM
          Onm.











          .
           
          Last edited: Jun 6, 2019
          • Like Like x 1
          • Mattax

            Mattax Just the facts, ma'am FABO Gold Member

            Messages:
            7,000
            Likes Received:
            3966
            Joined:
            Feb 7, 2013
            Location:
            Phila. Pa
            Local Time:
            4:54 PM
            There's also later style throttle linkage brackets from whenever Dodge/Plymouth stopped using the three piece automatic transmission throttle linkage.
             
          1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
            By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.