Carb choice

-

Terry Markwart

Reaction score
I am new to this sight and would like honest opinions of which carb will best suit my street needs.
340cid 9.5 comp ratio, .488/.491 lift cam, offy port o sonic I t
Screenshot_20211128-144153_Samsung Internet.jpg
ake, 360 heads port and polished, roller rockers (hydraulic. Cam), sanderson headers, electronic ignition. 727 auto with 3000 stall, shift kit and a 3.91 sure grip. I have a 600cfm eddy or a 750 carter comp carb. Which will work the best for cruising /street/ light strip. Thanks for responding

More street, I like the Carter 750 as mentioned. More really hot street/race, I would prefer one of the Holley style carburetors in a 750 double pumper like one of the Quick Fuel carburetors. VERY adjustable compared to the old style Holley.

You have both, try both. The 625 has smaller primaries & should be more responsive on the street; this is very important for a street driven car with a single plane intake.

I am new to this sight and would like honest opinions of which carb will best suit my street needs.
340cid 9.5 comp ratio, .488/.491 lift cam, offy port o sonic I tView attachment 1715877229 ake, 360 heads port and polished, roller rockers (hydraulic. Cam), sanderson headers, electronic ignition. 727 auto with 3000 stall, shift kit and a 3.91 sure grip. I have a 600cfm eddy or a 750 carter comp carb. Which will work the best for cruising /street/ light strip. Thanks for responding
Welcome aboard Terry. The Carter is well known to be a great street carb. I’d run the 750 myself but I would also try both just to see and know.
I’ll also say a Holley isn’t a bad choice ether. Pick wisely on the Holley.

With the performance build the 750 probably makes sense. However, the tendency is to over-carb a build and then the car doesn't perform as expected. You might check out a Street Demon or something like that. The car might be really responsive to something in the 670-700 range.