Carb recommendation 440

-

Scottcab

Reaction score
Hello all,
I just purchased a 73’ Dart that was setup for the 1/4 mile. I’m looking to make it primarily a fast street car, but I don’t plan on racing it. Unfortunately, I have a limited amount of info on the build.
Here’s what I know:
Weiland Team G intake manifold (single plane)
Roller cams, 10:1 compression, 3500 Stall, ported, 8 3/4 rear with 4:11, currently has a dominator 1050 on it. Previous owner said 550hp range. I took it for a slow-medium cruise for about 2 miles and used about 2 gallons of gas. The slow and medium speeds are crazy sluggish.

I was thinking about a Holley avenger 770 with vacuum secondaries or a 750 classic holley with vacuum.

I am also entertaining the idea of the Holley sniper efi. Thoughts?

If I left out important info, please let me know. I am new to the hobby and have a lot yet to learn.

D7A3554D-AA65-4BFC-A219-BCDAFBA2B203.jpeg

44B3EA33-C810-45AC-AB89-EA0CE69AABFA.jpeg

First off, lets start by making sure you don't sound like a newby at the cruise in.......and no offense meant by this, just trying to help. A 440 Chrysler has one (singular) cam, not "cams". If you say your 440 has roller "cams" you'll lose pretty much any credibility and the snickers will start. SO, that was lesson number 1.

Yes, you left out all kinda stuff, BUT I'll tell you what I know from the pictures. That intake has a Holley Dominator flange. That means without an adapter plate, you will not fit another style carburetor. Those header tubes are BIG. The intake, carburetor and HUGE tube headers are NOT very street (low RPM) friendly. That means low RPM cruise will suffer in exchange for higher RPM power. But, depending on what converter and gear ratio you have, you can make a big improvement on all that. If you can come back with more info we can help further.