Carter AVS question

-

azaustin

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
I have two ‘65 Darts with 235hp Charger engines. It’s been 50+ years since I worked on a Carter AVS, so I’m not an expert on them. Today I noticed that there are two holes on the front of the carb just above the butterflies that go straight through to unfiltered outside air. At first I thought that someone must have removed the plugs that should go there, so I checked the carb for my other carb. It is the same way. The car runs and idles ok, with good throttle response, the mixture screws work ok, and the idle vacuum is within specs. Is this the way this carburetor is built? Seems pretty strange to me.

Well we need a photo. There are no such holes that I remember

You sure you have AVS or AFB? Photos? What is the carb(s) off of originally? You can find photos and drawings of carbs in the factory shop manuals, which you can download, free, from MyMopar

Here is a 69 AVS out of the shop manual. Can you describe from this photo where these holes are?

69avs.jpg

Last edited:
If you are referring to the 2 dome like covers where the idle screws would go, those are set at the factory, then the plugs are put on there. Maybe someone removed them? Can you post a pic of your carb, pointing out the holes you're talking about?

Heres pic of my AFB from 67 273. You can see 2 sets of domes both above and below the A/F mixture screws. Ones above are smaller and angled. Not sure what they're for. Ones below I believe are the idle mix screws?

20190114_233451.jpg

No, this is the way they are built. I do not remember the reason why but they are built and sold with those holes open.

Idle mix screws are right there. 2 tubes are for PCV VALVE, and vacuum advance. Are these the two holes you're talking about?

Idle mix screws are right there. 2 tubes are for PCV VALVE, and vacuum advance. Are these the two holes you're talking about?