Choosing the right carb for my car (340 4-speed)

-

73SwingerBuild

Reaction score
Looking to see if this makes sense to everybody else.

When I was building my car, I bought a mystery 340 which turned out to be a pretty hot motor. It's got a pretty aggressive solid cam and a single plane Holley Strip Dominator intake. I have headers on it and a nice free-flowing exhaust. The transmission is a 4-speed with 3.55 gears in the rear.

When I bought the motor, it came with a Holley model 3310 carb, rated at 750cfm with vacuum secondaries (no choke). I had the carb rebuilt by my friend's dad, who said that it was a mess of parts but he said it should run alright.

Anyways, I've been driving the car for a few months and there was this really noticeable hesitation if I put my foot into it (even half throttle) under 3,000-3,500 RPM. After that point, it screamed and there were no issues. It also seemed to be running just a tad rich, though the plugs looked fine.

Anyways, I went to a buddy's shop last night to tune the carb a bit (it wouldn't idle well below 1,200 RPM and it was hesitating) and we ended up putting on a new Holley model Holley model 4776c 600cfm carb with mechanical secondaries (manual choke). We did a quick tune and the car now runs awesome. It burns tire through second gear and it pulls hard at low RPM, which it definitely wasn't doing before. I think the car being a 4-speed with minimal vacuum is the reason it responded so well to the mechanical secondaries.

I know I could gain more low-end by putting on a dual-plane (like the Edelbrock air gap) but I feel like this carb might be sized perfect for the motor on the street.