Classic Auto Air - 1973 Duster - Fan switch help

Heating / Cooling / AC

  1. scottbak

    scottbak Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2020
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Local Time:
    8:32 PM
    So I purchased the Classic auto air Classic Auto Air 20-286 Plymouth 1967-1974 Non Factory Air kit. however the instruction are only for up to the 1972 year. The dash in mine looks like this:
    upload_2020-6-29_13-31-21.png

    but the switch is supposed to be separate
    upload_2020-6-29_13-32-22.png

    Does anyone know how I would rewire the harness? It looks like they are providing a switch to replace the original one with int he dash? upload_2020-6-29_13-36-53.png

    upload_2020-6-29_13-38-7.png
    Wiring from their instructions above.
    Wiring diagram from 1973 Wiring book
    upload_2020-6-29_13-39-32.png

    Can anyone assist with this? Need to know high, med, low and which one not to use, as the 1972 had a 4 way switch? or one more than the 73?

    Thanks for all the help I can get.

    Scott
     
  2. MoparMike1974

    MoparMike1974 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    1641
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Location:
    Maryland
    Local Time:
    11:32 PM
    You dont need to rewire the switch, you just need to do some engineering to make it fit the 73 bezel. You will not be using the original blower motor or wiring so that is not an issue. The kit is only made to fit up to 72. I installed one in my 73 so it can be made to work.
    Have you sorted out the firewall plate yet? That was by far the most work of the install. I did not like their plastic plate at all so i made a metal plate for mine. I will see if I can find some pics.

    Here are a couple pics. Also notice the plates I made to block off the holes where the original AC hoses and heater hoses passed through.

    20190714_171655.jpg

    20190919_184257.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2020
  3. scottbak

    scottbak Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2020
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Local Time:
    8:32 PM
    oh pictures and help would be great! Maybe a pic of the switch wiring? Or whatever you have would be awesome!!!!
     
  4. scottbak

    scottbak Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2020
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Local Time:
    8:32 PM
    That looks great! and thanks for the help!
    upload_2020-6-29_15-19-30.png
    Be glad to get rid of that old one! What color is your 73? looks like similar to mine
     
  5. MoparMike1974

    MoparMike1974 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    1641
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Location:
    Maryland
    Local Time:
    11:32 PM
    Gecko Green (PFM) Used on some of the newer jeeps and challengers. Its not the latest version with metal flake/pearl.

    I dont think I have any pics of the switch mounting but I will look and post them if I have them. Basically I took out the original switch and cut out a little plastic to make the new switch slide in the hole. It fit pretty tight as it was but I put a few dabs of hot glue to be sure.
    For the vent controls I used an AC bezel and swapped in a lever from a non-AC panel. The reason is the AC one used vacuum to operate and the non-AC used a cable like the kit needs.
     
  6. MoparMike1974

    MoparMike1974 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    1641
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Location:
    Maryland
    Local Time:
    11:32 PM
    Sorry, I dont have any pics. I see you have the non-AC panel. That may work as is, just change the switch out. Of course your labeling on the bezel wont be correct. I managed to get mine to read correct in almost all the positions.
    You may even be able to use your original switch if it has enough positions.
     
  7. MoparMike1974

    MoparMike1974 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    1641
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Location:
    Maryland
    Local Time:
    11:32 PM
    .....is that a motocraft voltage regulator in your engine bay? Shame on you.
     
  8. scottbak

    scottbak Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2020
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Local Time:
    8:32 PM
    Hahahaha, yeah yeah, I had a Mopar performance one go bad, so put that in and never went back to replace.
     
  9. scottbak

    scottbak Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2020
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Local Time:
    8:32 PM
    No worries, I think you gave me the help I needed. I will make it fit.
     
  10. MoparMike1974

    MoparMike1974 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    1641
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Location:
    Maryland
    Local Time:
    11:32 PM
    Im guilty too, I have one Ford part on my car.

    20181114_212124.jpg

    Let me know if you have any questions along the way with the AC install. I will help if I can.
     
  11. scottbak

    scottbak Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2020
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Local Time:
    8:32 PM
    Thanks man, I appreciate it
     
  12. scottbak

    scottbak Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2020
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Local Time:
    8:32 PM
    Did you have any issues with the compressor mounting? upload_2020-6-29_19-18-12.png
     
  13. MoparMike1974

    MoparMike1974 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    1641
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Location:
    Maryland
    Local Time:
    11:32 PM
    The brackets they supplied halfway worked. Might have been a direct fit on a stock engine but the bracket did not line up to my intake mounting holes so I made a new support bracket. It also took quite a bit of trial and error to figure out what pulleys to use.

    20190415_191658.jpg
     
  14. MoparMike1974

    MoparMike1974 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    1641
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Location:
    Maryland
    Local Time:
    11:32 PM
    BTW, your alternator mounting looks screwy to me. Its sitting much further forward than it should be. When you go to mount that kit it will be an issue.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.