Clutch "knocking"?

-

67fish383S

Reaction score
I have what may be a stupid question, but I'm relatively new to owning a 4-speed classic. I know my way around the engine compartment, but the A-833 is a new experience for me. I bought an original 67 Barracuda Fastback 383S 4-speed a little less than a year ago. It came to me with the original trans, but the previous owner had recently installed a new McLeod diaphragm style clutch & throw-out bearing, flywheel was resurfaced, clutch linkage was rebuilt, and the shifter was upgraded to a Hurst Competition plus conversion from the original inland shifter mechanism.

I'm not sure this is a new thing, or if I've just never noticed it before, but when the engine is idling with trans in neutral and the clutch engaged, I hear what I can only describe as a very faint knocking. The sound has no regular pattern, it's just random. It almost sounds like something is loose and rattling, but not severely so. It took me quite a while to determine that it wasn't something loose on the block or an internal engine noise. When I push the clutch pedal in, the noise stops. There is also a distinct sound when I reengage the clutch when it is idling in neutral. The car drives and shifts normally.

Is this sound normal or something I should investigate? Thanks in advance.

You mentioned it's a diaphragm multi finger clutch pressure plate and not a 3 finger Borg and Beck style. Check under the dash, specifically for the really really large clutch assist spring. If it's there, remove it. Not needed with a diaphragm style clutch, possibly adjust the linkage under the car as well. Should solve your problem.

If you dont want to destroy the spring and its retainer, easiest way is to remove the complete pedal assembly from that car, push the clutch pedal down. "Watch your fingers", you can actually push the pedal past it's normal floorpan stop point with it out of the car, and simply unhook the spring and its retainer and remove them.