Convertible top switch removal

Convertible A-Body Mopar

  1. Brian Owens

    Brian Owens New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Thursday
    Location:
    N.E.PA
    Local Time:
    6:08 PM
    Recently got back into mopars! Just picked up a 67 Dart GT convertible great car. Just got the car. Lowered the top 2x. First time no issues (that I noticed) the 2nd time I tried to operate the top, i hit switch to put top down and it got stuck part way. After jiggling switch around for about 15 minutes I was able to get it to close (thank GOD). I suspect that the issue may be in the switch itself, or at least that's probably the first place to start.

    So my QUESTION is how do I remove the switch/ switch Beazle so I can see if the switch is bad? I ordered up a new one from the convertible top guys because my switch seems roached af. All help greatly appreciated! I can't figure out how to remove it from my dash!
     
  2. burdar

    burdar Owen's Dad

    Messages:
    1,278
    Likes Received:
    349
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Location:
    Iowa
    Local Time:
    5:08 PM
    The switch is held on by the round chrome bezel on the outside. The bezel screws on to threads in the switch. Unscrew the bezel and the switch will come out the back side.

    I made a tool that fits inside the grooves of the bezel so they can be easily removed/installed. It's basically just a piece of conduit that I put in the mill and machined away the edge until I was left with a couple of "pins" sticking out. You could do the same thing with a hacksaw...it would just take longer.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2022 at 7:52 AM
    • Like Like x 1
    • Dana67Dart

      Dana67Dart The parts you don't add don't cause you no trouble FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      8,248
      Likes Received:
      5779
      Joined:
      Jul 16, 2017
      Location:
      Northern Colorado
      Local Time:
      4:08 PM
      There are removal tools for sale at places like Classic Ind if you are not as talented.
      MF1742 - 1962-74 Mopar; Washer, Wiper, Headlight Dash Switch Bezel Nut Removal Tool

      If you use a screwdriver you WILL damage the bezel.

      67 (especially Convertibles) have a lot of unique 1 year only parts

      There were only about 12,000 convertibles built 67, 68, 69 so finding donor parts cars is next to impossible.

      DO NOT TOSS OR DISTROY ANY PART.

      many parts can be restored. The top switch is one of them.

      And by the way, welcome to the 67 Dart GT Convertible Family.

      Post some photos and details of your car.
       
      Last edited: Jan 14, 2022 at 8:51 AM
    • HemiSSDart

      HemiSSDart Dartus Interuptus

      Messages:
      2,023
      Likes Received:
      1591
      Joined:
      Feb 20, 2013
      Location:
      Illinoisy
      Local Time:
      6:08 PM
      You ordered a switch from the convertible top guys? Can you be more specific? That switch is difficult to find and as far as I know hasn't been available for years!?!
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • burdar

        burdar Owen's Dad

        Messages:
        1,278
        Likes Received:
        349
        Joined:
        Aug 15, 2013
        Location:
        Iowa
        Local Time:
        5:08 PM
        JS Restorations rebuilt all my switches but he just retired. Is anyone else rebuilding switches?
         
      • Dana67Dart

        Dana67Dart The parts you don't add don't cause you no trouble FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        8,248
        Likes Received:
        5779
        Joined:
        Jul 16, 2017
        Location:
        Northern Colorado
        Local Time:
        4:08 PM
        I haven't looked but I would be 100% sure it is a generic switch. I looked some time ago and this is what they had. (Dont know what the OP bought) Screenshot_20220114-091129.png
         
      • 4spdragtop

        4spdragtop CONGRATS NORTH AMERICA! FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        32,838
        Likes Received:
        14061
        Joined:
        Aug 28, 2009
        Location:
        Wasting time here
        Local Time:
        5:08 PM
        Geof @cosgig did a mod to Nellas 67 Sunfish I believe that helps reduce load on switch.
        He may chime in here.
         
      • Dana67Dart

        Dana67Dart The parts you don't add don't cause you no trouble FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        8,248
        Likes Received:
        5779
        Joined:
        Jul 16, 2017
        Location:
        Northern Colorado
        Local Time:
        4:08 PM
        Like with headlights you can run relays from the switch. You would need to run a dedicated heavy power source back to the pump then install relays that use the switch output to energize the relays
         
        • Agree Agree x 1
        • burdar

          burdar Owen's Dad

          Messages:
          1,278
          Likes Received:
          349
          Joined:
          Aug 15, 2013
          Location:
          Iowa
          Local Time:
          5:08 PM
          Crackedback on this site makes relay kits for convertible tops. I have one of his headlight relay kits too. I mounted the convertible relays back by the pump.
          20200718_082659.jpg
           
          • Like Like x 3
          • Agree Agree x 2
          • Dana67Dart

            Dana67Dart The parts you don't add don't cause you no trouble FABO Gold Member

            Messages:
            8,248
            Likes Received:
            5779
            Joined:
            Jul 16, 2017
            Location:
            Northern Colorado
            Local Time:
            4:08 PM
            BTW, you might just have a bad connection on the switch.

            Note that there are screw terminals on the back to the cir breaker.

            Screenshot_20220114-103017.png
             
            • Agree Agree x 1
            • Dana67Dart

              Dana67Dart The parts you don't add don't cause you no trouble FABO Gold Member

              Messages:
              8,248
              Likes Received:
              5779
              Joined:
              Jul 16, 2017
              Location:
              Northern Colorado
              Local Time:
              4:08 PM
              Another thing, owners manual specifically says to have engine running while raising or lowering.

              Also if you had to, you can SLOWLY push the top down manually.
               
              • Like Like x 1
              • RhinoMan68

                RhinoMan68 if its for a 1968 cuda 'vert I probably need it. FABO Gold Member

                Messages:
                91
                Likes Received:
                35
                Joined:
                Apr 8, 2020
                Location:
                Northern VA
                Local Time:
                6:08 PM
                Like others have said the original switch is made from unobtainium (not available :) ) and the switch shown WILL work and IS rated at 50 AMPs. I'd also STRONGLY suggest (minimally) adding a 50 AMP circuit breaker back in to the line as that is what the factory did with that sidecar module mounted to the original switch. If you JUST use the switch, no circuit breakers or relays (actually a better suggestion) you are asking for a dash fire. These wires and connectors are 50 years old now and were never intended to last this long.
                 
                • Like Like x 1
                • HemiSSDart

                  HemiSSDart Dartus Interuptus

                  Messages:
                  2,023
                  Likes Received:
                  1591
                  Joined:
                  Feb 20, 2013
                  Location:
                  Illinoisy
                  Local Time:
                  6:08 PM
                  Exactly! If you know anything about electronics there is a spike when first turned on, that is what will fry the harness!
                   
                • Dana67Dart

                  Dana67Dart The parts you don't add don't cause you no trouble FABO Gold Member

                  Messages:
                  8,248
                  Likes Received:
                  5779
                  Joined:
                  Jul 16, 2017
                  Location:
                  Northern Colorado
                  Local Time:
                  4:08 PM
                  I think you mean 30 amp, (clearly visible on the photo i posted). Even 30 amp is most likely pushing the max rating of 12awg wire.
                   
                1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
                  By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.