Cost and special parts to turbo

-

Dustin The PcP

Reaction score
I am thinking about putting a turbo on my 318, and I can fabricate all the piping and exhaust, but my only question is, what special parts would I need.

Would I need a certain type of carb or would any type work...?

Or any links to something I might need to read would be great.

I have some moderate experience with turbos, been around a 11 second SRT-4 for years, until this past April when I lost my brother due to an accident may he rest in peace. But I helped with everything on the car from stock to what it was.

I am thinking about putting a turbo on my 318, and I can fabricate all the piping and exhaust, but my only question is, what special parts would I need.

Would I need a certain type of carb or would any type work...?

Special parts are needed when the boost level exceeds a certain amount, depending on the fuel you plan to run.

When enough boost is added, the cylinder pressures that result are capable of lifting the heads off the gaskets, or creating detonaton, which is detrimental to engine life.

You could probably turbo a stock 318 with up to about 6 or 7 pounds of boost and if you added an alcohol injector to control detonation, and kept a close watch on your ignition timing, I'd venture a guess that you would be pretty safe to use 93-octane gas and not suffer any detonation. You could probably pick up 70 or 80 flywheel horsepower that way, but I'm just guessing.

More boost would make more power, of course, but at a price...

If you want to add much more horsepower than that to your 318, it wouldn't be HARD to do, but this is where forged pistons and rods are necessary, along with special cylinder sealing techniques and unusual fuel systems to deal with the higher demands that significant boost brings.

The nice thing is, you can spend as much or as little as you want. Your e.t. slip will reflect how much lighter your wallet got, during the build.