Cruise Seems Lean

-

71GSSDemon

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
I am running 2 660 center squirters on a tunnel ram. I am wondering at what throttle position do these carbs run on idle circuit vs transfer slots vs main jet. I have a cruise RPM of 2400 but looking at the spark plugs, it appears it is running lean. I am getting great fuel mileage, but I am concerned with the mixture. Idle screws were 1 1/4 turns out, idles and starts great. It also was 5 hours of driving in high 90 deg / Low 100 deg temps and sustained RPM. The coolant temp stayed mostly 190-200 deg for the trip, climbing to 210 at stops. I am not sure if idle mixture adjustment, more transfer slot (or less) or more jet. Unfortunately I do not remember the amount of transfer slot or what jets are in it at the moment. Engine is a mild, lower compression 440 with a Hughes Whiplash 440 cam. Converter is 2400 stall B&M, rear gear for the trip is 2.94.

I’m no expert but, I’m willing to bet the experts will want pictures of the plugs. Does it surge at cruise?

I’m no expert but, I’m willing to bet the experts will want pictures of the plugs. Does it surge at cruise?

Thanks Mark. How are your 750's working?

The only surge I noticed was just before home, so at the hottest temps. I can pull plugs later and get pics. They are E3 plugs and I have never used them before. The combustion side of the plugs are black with deposits, the electrode side is gray in color on the 2 I pulled. I didn't change the tune after changing the gears from 3.91. It is noticeably different as cruise RPM is different and starting from a stop has a stumble whereas it didn't before, but I assumed that would happen.