Degreeing a Cam, or not.....

Would you run it or take it apart and correct it?

• Total voters
-

Kent mosby

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
Well, I am an idiot engine builder. I built my 512 RB from scratch. Fresh block, completely new rotating assembly, new cam, lifter,,,,,everything. But, when I assembled it I measured everything and it all went together smoothly. What I did not do was degree the cam. I now know that was a big no no. How could I be so dumb? As I look back on the results of the build, I see a big motor that sounds great but underperforms on the racetrack. I have gone 12.3 seconds in the quarter mile but on paper I should be much better. I know that there are other factors but I look back on the lack of degreeing the cam as a possible source of frustration. The cam was built by Ken of Oregon cams. The specs are.

244/252 @ .050”, 282/290 adv, .516”/.537” lift(1.5:1 rocker), 112 sep, .016”/.018” lash

This is a very good street/strip grind that should make power from 2200/6400 or so. Will need a 3000+ converter and will work well with your compression ratio. Normally I would put this on a 110 lobe separation but with the nitrous and fuel injection I think 112 to 114 would work better.

Is there any way to correct this without pulling the entire front of the motor off?? This is a. what would you do if you bought the car and knew this was the situation?? The racetrack in Spokane will open sometime in the future and I hope to race it again there. I may also consider a new cam without the nitrous accommodation. Something more aggressive.

What would you do? I know that I was stupid. Go ahead and remind me, or not.

No way to correct it without taking it apart. If you leave it together it might be fine or you might be leaving some performance behind. Millions of cams have been installed without degreeing. Take your chances.

Until you verify exactly where the cam is installed, it’s the same as “the cat in the box”.