Distributor choices for a Magnum

-

KevinB

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm trying to pick a distributor but am just getting bogged down in all the information. I'm still a novice when it comes to engine building. My engine is a 5.9 Magnum, and I've seen many distributors that claim they don't work with magnums...although I've seen other sources say that all molar small block distributors will work in a magnum. In my case, I'm running a holley sniper, so I guess you could lump me in with the carbuerated crowd, if that makes a difference, since I'm not MPI or anything.

The other terms I'm getting bogged down in are vacuum/mechanical/computer controlled, HEI, hall effect, etc etc etc. I just have no idea what I actually need. Maybe if I just lay out what I'm looking for, someone can recommend one for me.

I'd like to keep the engine bay as clean as possible, so if it has a coil built in great. If it doesn't need an ignition box to work, awesome. I'd really love one with a built in rev limiter, but that may add too much cost. This car will be 90% street driven, and around 380hp.

Any ideas on a unit that won't break the bank?

I should clarify that the holley sniper I'm using IS a EFI kit, but it's an all in one retrofit solution, as opposed to a MPI system, which is why I am under the impression that you just treat it as a carb with regards to the distributor.

Any distributor for a small block will fit.

I went the other way when I did my MS3 install. I only needed a cam sensor so I have a 5.2 magnum distributor installed.

I've had good experiences with the MSD e-curve.

Once your total timing is determined and set, You can select from a large variety of pre-programmed ignition curves by switching two dials which each have 10 positions.