DIY quarter skin install

-

abodyjim

Reaction score
I had a couple people ask about the quarter install I did on my dart. It's been awhile since I've posted anything and I have a few pictures of the install so figured I'd just share.
This is the 2nd quarter I've installed so I'm no professional.
Lets get to it...
This was a bad collision repair that was slide hammered and filed with bondo, about 2" thick of it. The quarter was pushed in far enough to dent the outer wheel house as well.

20171130_195832.jpg

I'd never attempted to replace a quarter skin before I bought this car, but since the seller included a new one, I figured I'd give it a shot.
20190511_143051.jpg
20190511_165602.jpg
20190817_140331.jpg
20190817_140354.jpg

Not perfect, but it was a great experience and I learned a lot.

I removed the majority of quarter then hanging the quarter on the edge I was able to get a mark for where I plan to butt weld seam. I left it long and trimmed it fit.
I got the idea of seaming it here from someone else. Don't remember if it was on this site or somewhere else but it was great advice. The curve helps with controlling distortion of quarter during welding.

20191127_180706.jpg

20191211_161059.jpg

View attachment 1715849206

Next is the outer wheel house and trunk drop off.
I didn't say it earlier but I used a harbor freight spot weld cutter on the quarter and these pieces too. There are a lot of spot welds. Since I did this I watched a video from AMD and he shows you how to air chisel the metal around spot welds. It does save time but can tear some stuff up if not careful.
I started with the outer tub. After it was removed I fit the new wheel tub before removing the trunk drop off

20191219_192909.jpg

20191219_183910.jpg

20191219_183901.jpg

This area of the original tub is sandwiched between the inner tub and outer car structure. Trimmed it flush, welded and ground it smooth

20220107_144330.jpg