DOOR ALIGN ISSUE

-

cawley

383 Bcuda
Reaction score
I have been doing body & paint for many years & one of my pet peeves is body panel alignment. Making sure all the gaps are really nice. I am working on a 67 barracuda for a guy & i am in the middle of lining up the left door & fender. I have all the gaps nice except for where the door meets the cowl. The gap is about 3/8 to 7/16 wide. Now normally i would loosen the upper door hing where it bolts to the door & push it in. It will not go in any more. There is no more adjustment. Now i know you have to watch because when doing that the bottom corner at the quarter will move out. Any ways has anyone come across this problem ?

A Bodies have horrible fitment.

You may never get it to fit any better.

You could always add material in the area.

Sometimes the hinges are bent or has been hyper-extended and you will never align without changing them...I'm dealing with a 71 demon now ..after 2nd door swap on driver side ..gap where door shuts was almost an inch wide...hinges were bent forward...bent up door and fender..had to replace

20210415_160214.jpg

20210415_114908.jpg

I have been doing body & paint for many years & one of my pet peeves is body panel alignment. Making sure all the gaps are really nice. I am working on a 67 barracuda for a guy & i am in the middle of lining up the left door & fender. I have all the gaps nice except for where the door meets the cowl. The gap is about 3/8 to 7/16 wide. Now normally i would loosen the upper door hing where it bolts to the door & push it in. It will not go in any more. There is no more adjustment. Now i know you have to watch because when doing that the bottom corner at the quarter will move out. Any ways has anyone come across this problem ?

Think that is just the way they fit in that area on the A bodies. See if you can find some pictures of other A bodies in that area, they are all the same there.

Screenshot_20210416-010106_Gallery.jpg