Electric choke wire hookup

Discussion in 'Electrical and Ignition' started by moparmucelli, Dec 3, 2018.

  1. moparmucelli

    moparmucelli Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Location:
    murrieta ca
    Local Time:
    10:44 PM
    Hi guys I currently have a 1970 duster with a 360 2 barrel and I am going to go to a edelbrock 1406 electric choke and I was wondering what I can splice into for the electric choke or where I can connect it to under the dash in the fuse panel?
     
  2. 70aarcuda

    70aarcuda Master Hoader of SBM FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    13,822
    Likes Received:
    1919
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Location:
    las vegas
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    10:44 PM
    I hooked mine up to the alternator field wire that is switched.....been like that since 2005....
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • moparmucelli

      moparmucelli Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      179
      Likes Received:
      9
      Joined:
      Sep 15, 2013
      Location:
      murrieta ca
      Local Time:
      10:44 PM
      Ok which wire is that (sry not too bright with electrical lol)
       
    • RedFish

      RedFish Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      22,303
      Likes Received:
      1406
      Joined:
      Sep 5, 2007
      Local Time:
      1:44 AM
      There is only one switched hot wire under the hood. It's blue, at ballast resistor, voltage regulator and alternator. So tapping this blue wire somewhere along its route to the alternator is typical. In fact, when the factory engineers added a electric choke assist to their thermal choke well, they tapped this same wire. The difference is how much current different electric chokes use. The factory installed a choke controller, mounted underneath the coil, but their choke heater was a like a small piece of electric range element. So... go ahead and wire your aftermarket electric choke to this blue wire assuming that it wont cause charging system problems. If it does we'll seek a solution. good luck
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • moparmucelli

        moparmucelli Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        179
        Likes Received:
        9
        Joined:
        Sep 15, 2013
        Location:
        murrieta ca
        Local Time:
        10:44 PM
        Ok thanks i will try that
         
      • 69_340_GTS

        69_340_GTS Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        3,002
        Likes Received:
        962
        Joined:
        Jul 11, 2014
        Location:
        Torrington, CT
        View My Photos
        Local Time:
        1:44 AM
        Blue wire. It'll work.
         
        • Like Like x 1
        • moparmucelli

          moparmucelli Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          179
          Likes Received:
          9
          Joined:
          Sep 15, 2013
          Location:
          murrieta ca
          Local Time:
          10:44 PM
          Also what size gauge red wire do I use to go to the choke?
           
        • dibbons

          dibbons Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          2,426
          Likes Received:
          888
          Joined:
          Nov 6, 2009
          Location:
          La Paz, B.C.S., Mexico
          Local Time:
          10:44 PM
          If one is adding an electric choke and NOS choke controller at the same time would the wiring be the same as above?
           
        • RedFish

          RedFish Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          22,303
          Likes Received:
          1406
          Joined:
          Sep 5, 2007
          Local Time:
          1:44 AM
          yes
          I'm thinking 18awg would be sufficient.
           
          • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
          • 67Dart273

            67Dart273 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            38,083
            Likes Received:
            5678
            Joined:
            Oct 14, 2010
            Location:
            Idaho
            View My Photos
            Local Time:
            10:44 PM
            What Redfish was alluding to earlier is that ADDING stuff to the blue wire may aggravate voltage drop problems which cause over voltage from the VR This might be a good time to check voltage drop and "see where you are." Turn the key to run Check voltage between battery + and the blue connection at the alternator. Don't disconnect to probe it, leave all wiring connected. You wat to measure "the less the better" and more than .3V (3 tenths of one volt) you might want to fix it. One way is to use a relay to supply under-hood loads. Electrically cut the blue feed coming out of the bulkhead and use that to trigger a relay

            You might also want to fuse your choke controller as NONE of that circuit is fused other than the main fuse link.....which is poor/ no protection
             
            • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
            • inertia

              inertia Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              3,008
              Likes Received:
              365
              Joined:
              Feb 4, 2011
              Location:
              Victoria B.C. Canada
              View My Photos
              Local Time:
              10:44 PM
              I like to use a relay, and 5 min rear window defrost timer to shut off choke power when engine is warm.
              jmo
               
            • dibbons

              dibbons Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              2,426
              Likes Received:
              888
              Joined:
              Nov 6, 2009
              Location:
              La Paz, B.C.S., Mexico
              Local Time:
              10:44 PM
              Thank defrost relay is a good idea. However in my case with a choke controller, if I plan on blocking off the heat crossover passage, I wonder if intake manifold heat will be enough to shut down the choke controller?
               
            • inertia

              inertia Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              3,008
              Likes Received:
              365
              Joined:
              Feb 4, 2011
              Location:
              Victoria B.C. Canada
              View My Photos
              Local Time:
              10:44 PM
              It works on conventional Holley chokes, don't see why Eddy should be different, but, knowing Eddy ? ?
              If you have headers, engine compartment heat won't be a prob. lol
               
            • AJ/FormS

              AJ/FormS 367 FormS clone 3.09-1.92-1.40-1.09-.78od 3.55s

              Messages:
              14,685
              Likes Received:
              3920
              Joined:
              Jan 19, 2014
              Location:
              South-Central Manitoba,Canada, 900ftelevation
              View My Photos
              Local Time:
              12:44 AM
              That blue wire is live with the key in "run", so it would be feeding the choke continuously. The controller will shut it off when it heats up, thus killing the circuit. I highly recommend the choke controller as a shorted choke would cause a lot of grief. I've never seen it happen , jus saying.
               
            • 1969383S

              1969383S FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

              Messages:
              3,607
              Likes Received:
              1111
              Joined:
              Jan 8, 2012
              Location:
              Cumming, GA.
              View My Photos
              Local Time:
              1:44 AM
              I use the blue ignition switched lead to the 2 speed wiper motor. While this is hot always with ignition on it is protected by the built in circuit breaker in the wiper switch and not inline with the charging wires. Would likely be the easiest choice when used with a controller.
               
            • dibbons

              dibbons Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              2,426
              Likes Received:
              888
              Joined:
              Nov 6, 2009
              Location:
              La Paz, B.C.S., Mexico
              Local Time:
              10:44 PM
              I am still I little unclear where the controller gets its heat source from, is it from the bolt that attaches it to the intake manifold or elsewhere?
               
            • moparmucelli

              moparmucelli Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              179
              Likes Received:
              9
              Joined:
              Sep 15, 2013
              Location:
              murrieta ca
              Local Time:
              10:44 PM
              Could I run it to the fuse panel somewhere?
               
            • RedFish

              RedFish Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              22,303
              Likes Received:
              1406
              Joined:
              Sep 5, 2007
              Local Time:
              1:44 AM
              The OEM choke controller is/was a little ceramic enclosure with 2 of what resembles the mechanical voltage limiters inside ( resistor wire wound on bimetal beams ). Those windings generate a lot of heat. That's why, like a ballast resistor, it is ceramic cased. Ballast resistor gets sooo hot that it was placed in a cooler position. This choke controller was placed so to get warm and stay warm.
              The heat from the element would wick back through the wire toward the controller so that length of wire was wrapped in fiberglass/asbestos? A woven casing.
              This was all just a choke assist to make the choke open a little faster, satisfy the EPA. I have no idea how it will work with the crossover blocked.
               
              Last edited: Dec 5, 2018
            • moparmucelli

              moparmucelli Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              179
              Likes Received:
              9
              Joined:
              Sep 15, 2013
              Location:
              murrieta ca
              Local Time:
              10:44 PM
              Can I run it to the fuse panel?
               
            • RedFish

              RedFish Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              22,303
              Likes Received:
              1406
              Joined:
              Sep 5, 2007
              Local Time:
              1:44 AM
              Depending on year model, you may have only 3 switched fused circuits inside and those are pretty much loaded already. What do you do? Toss out the radio? I don't know how much current a aftermarket choke draws. Tapping the switched blue wire in engine bay seems to work for others.
               
            • moparmucelli

              moparmucelli Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              179
              Likes Received:
              9
              Joined:
              Sep 15, 2013
              Location:
              murrieta ca
              Local Time:
              10:44 PM
              Ok yea I have a a 70 duster that’s was originally a slant 6 it has a cheap aftermarket radio
               
            • moparmucelli

              moparmucelli Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              179
              Likes Received:
              9
              Joined:
              Sep 15, 2013
              Location:
              murrieta ca
              Local Time:
              10:44 PM
              Can I run the wire the the fuse panel like to the accessory or key on ?
               
            • moparmucelli

              moparmucelli Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              179
              Likes Received:
              9
              Joined:
              Sep 15, 2013
              Location:
              murrieta ca
              Local Time:
              10:44 PM
              Can I connect the wire the fuse panel under accessory or key on?
               
            • moparmucelli

              moparmucelli Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              179
              Likes Received:
              9
              Joined:
              Sep 15, 2013
              Location:
              murrieta ca
              Local Time:
              10:44 PM
              hi guys can I run the wire to the fuse panel under the dash? And if I can what spit can I put it? It’s a 70 duster with a 360 and I’m putting a edelbrock 1406 carb on it
               
            • 69_340_GTS

              69_340_GTS Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              3,002
              Likes Received:
              962
              Joined:
              Jul 11, 2014
              Location:
              Torrington, CT
              View My Photos
              Local Time:
              1:44 AM
              It's so easy to connect it to the blue wire discussed above. Put a 10A fuse inline in the wire running to the choke just to be safe. These chokes don't draw much power.