Project Big Block 74

-

Hallzy

Reaction score
First of all this site is awesome what an incredible resource of knowledge and information thanks to all members!!
Anyways 74 Swinger 318 904 8.25 bbp front discs
I have secured a 4bbl eddy 600cfm and performer intake I have dual exhaust but need to install headers which I also have waiting.
Not a bad start but what I really seem to need would be some 302 castings
Trying to keep it cheap as I have a 5.9 in the old truck as well which at some point will likely be in the car
Thanks in advance for any info or advice as I said this is my first project and I have very limited knowledge

IMAG3436.jpg

IMAG3433.jpg

IMAG3431.jpg

IMAG3429.jpg

IMAG3329.jpg

This reminds me a great deal of my 74 swinger when i first got it! I sweat 90% of the 73-74 cars have this interior color! Mine was actually that color inside and out when i got it.
Luckily you're starting with a V8/Disc car...mine was slant with a 7.25 and drums.lol

If i can help with any new parts, or knowledge let me know. Glad to take care of a member kicking off a project.

And i have to ask...what the Peavey AMP Sticker on the dash?lol i don't recall my car even having a "pocket" there.

Before
upload_2017-2-2_8-20-1.png

After
upload_2017-2-2_8-20-50.png

View attachment 1715014079

View attachment 1715014081

welcome aboard. Glad to see another beak car getting back out there.
2 things i can think of for advice.
1: Tailights, if yours are cracked or damaged, keep an eye out at all times for a good set, they rarely come up but when they do, they are pricey.
2: check the area behind the bumper shock mounts on the rear, over time the bumper shocks leak and rust forms behind where they bolt to the frame. Seen this on many a 74.

As mentioned above ,you already have a good start with the discs and i'm assuming an 8.25 rear. thatll save you about 1000 right there.