Front End Rebuild Kits

-

Joel Chapman

Reaction score
Any one have any good recommendations on front end rebuilt kits? Also some sites have difference between drum or disc brakes, does that matter? I have a 71 Dart Swinger 318 engine with Disc brakes upfront and drums in the back.

Thanks for all the help I am new to the Mopar and A-body world so any knoweldge is good knoweldge right now.

PST is a vendor/sponsor here and I believe offers discounts for members.

Picked up a kit from PST at a good price plus a 10% discount for us members. All parts were right . Fast free shipping if I remember correctly.

On my 67 kit there is a difference in the lower ball joints for drum and disc. Don't know about on 71. If you have the 4 piston Kelsey hayes setup the lower ball joint is different than drum.

Any one have any good recommendations on front end rebuilt kits? Also some sites have difference between drum or disc brakes, does that matter? I have a 71 Dart Swinger 318 engine with Disc brakes upfront and drums in the back.

Thanks for all the help I am new to the Mopar and A-body world so any knoweldge is good knoweldge right now.
Firm feel, PST, Hotckiss, just depends on how much you wanna spend.

And yes, drum or disc brakes matter. on SOME years, the upper ball joints on the disc brake cars, the stems were bigger and tappered than the drum brake equipped cars, as are the spindles. You'll also need to know if your car has a factory sway bar or not before ordering the kit.

And yes, Rock auto sells the components individually, HOWEVER, and I just learned this the hardway, it is not that much cheaper to piece together a kit vs buying a complete kit from PST or Firm Feel, which include EVERYTHING. I think I saved maybe 3 bucks but it took me an hour piecing it together online.

The disc brake ball joint uses bigger bolts, so the mounting holes are larger.