fuel gauge wrong

Fuel and Air Systems

  1. mopardemon340

    mopardemon340 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Location:
    WI
    Local Time:
    12:08 AM
    im having issues with my gauge reading wrong. so i bought a meter match and i set it up as instructed but its still not reading properly. when i set it up it was working and was spot on. but not it says is full when its less then half a tank. anyone else have these issues with meter match or something better to try.. linear sending unit non linear gauge.
     
  2. 67Dart273

    67Dart273 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    38,654
    Likes Received:
    6263
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Location:
    Idaho
    Local Time:
    10:08 PM
    Possible the sender is sticking. I'd "step back" and go with an ohmeter..........Empty the tank, check the reading at the sender with an ohmeter. Make sure the wiring coming up "front" is OK. Then add what you pass for 1/2 tank, recheck the reading. you can drive it some, recheck, to get an idea if the sender is sticking or intermittent.
     
  3. mopardemon340

    mopardemon340 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Location:
    WI
    Local Time:
    12:08 AM
    wiring is all new and in good shape. i didnt have a ground strap on but now i do i just added it today.. now you raise a good point check the ohms i figure ill take readings for all my set points as i fill it. then drive it for a while and then recheck. its a new sending unit and shouldnt stick but even new parts go to shit i guess.

    thansk
     
  4. Dana67Dart

    Dana67Dart Most undignified way to get to Colorado!

    Messages:
    1,542
    Likes Received:
    612
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Local Time:
    11:08 PM
    Look for a NOS sender or a bad OE sender and have it repaired. Save yourself a tone of trouble.
    Is the gauge stock OE?
     
  5. mopardemon340

    mopardemon340 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Location:
    WI
    Local Time:
    12:08 AM
    No the gauge isnt stock. It's an autometer 3515. 73 empty 10 full. What's the nos sender?
     
  6. Dana67Dart

    Dana67Dart Most undignified way to get to Colorado!

    Messages:
    1,542
    Likes Received:
    612
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Local Time:
    11:08 PM
    same ~73 empty ~10 full.
    Disregard my comment about the sender, I was assuming you had stock gauges.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • famous bob

      famous bob mopar misfit

      Messages:
      11,242
      Likes Received:
      2784
      Joined:
      Aug 14, 2011
      Location:
      okla
      Local Time:
      12:08 AM
      I drove out and topped my tank off last week, the gauge was reading 3/4, topped it off (only took 5 1/2 gal.), and went down to about 3/8, everything is new, it`s grounded, and I `m using the 3/8 pick up as a return. Have the sock cut off, leaving it as long as possible to avoid aireation. Using a new digital (or some thing) limiter that was recommended by others on here a couple of yrs ago. The thing is still screwy ! Seemed about right at 3/4 before fill up. Needle reacts very very slow .
       
    • 68original

      68original I'm here, you're there. FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      1,307
      Likes Received:
      272
      Joined:
      Nov 25, 2012
      Location:
      South Dakota
      Local Time:
      12:08 AM
      I would guess sending unit. I had same thing happen with a fairly new sending unit. One area of the resistance "fins" (yea I know that's not right terminology) spread apart just enough to hold the float at 1/2 tank. Discovered it a block from my house when I ran out of gas. Took the sending unit out, carefully massaged the gap out with a pick, and haven't had any problems since.
       
    • famous bob

      famous bob mopar misfit

      Messages:
      11,242
      Likes Received:
      2784
      Joined:
      Aug 14, 2011
      Location:
      okla
      Local Time:
      12:08 AM
      mine seemed to have full movement when I put it in. will check it out "if" I ever have the tank off .
       
    • toolmanmike

      toolmanmike FABO Staff Staff Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      35,280
      Likes Received:
      17238
      Joined:
      Jan 18, 2006
      Location:
      Iowa
      Local Time:
      12:08 AM
       
    • famous bob

      famous bob mopar misfit

      Messages:
      11,242
      Likes Received:
      2784
      Joined:
      Aug 14, 2011
      Location:
      okla
      Local Time:
      12:08 AM
      --------------$105____________Not one in my future !
       
    • Mr.FT

      Mr.FT FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      855
      Likes Received:
      30
      Joined:
      Feb 14, 2011
      Location:
      New Jersey
      Local Time:
      1:08 AM
      I just watched the video on the speedway unit. If I understood it correctly you set it with an ohm range. Well if you have a non linear gauge and a linear sending unit ( as is the issue with aftermarket senders ) I don't see how it would work in that case. The sending unit would still be sending the wrong ohm value within the range to the gauge. Is there something I'm missing??
       
    1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
      By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.