fuel sender gauge gasket

-

brodphish

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
after owning a 67 Barracuda for 8 years (which I still have) I just picked up 65 as well, very fun to drive!

However after filling up the tank, I found out the gasket on the fuel gauge sending unit is leaking. It looks easy enough to replace, but I've never done it before.

How do I get the retaining ring off, will it just turn? What if it is stuck, any tips to free it up? I have not tried I need to run the full tank mostly empty. It's not leaking too badly.

Any other advice?

One other question - will the sending unit slide through the ring or will I need to remove it.

Thank you in advance.

One other question - will the sending unit slide through the ring or will I need to remove it.

Thank you in advance.
I hate to answer a question with a question but here we go. Has the sending unit been replaced? Aftermarket retainers suck.

You might be able to wrestle the gasket over the sending unit but you will have to remove all of the lines and unplug electrical. To be honest I think dropping the tank is the only fix, especially to find out what is really wrong and to test the fix.

You might be able to wrestle the gasket over the sending unit but you will have to remove all of the lines and unplug electrical. To be honest I think dropping the tank is the only fix, especially to find out what is really wrong and to test the fix.

It looks like it could be original but its hard to say for sure. My initial thought was the gas tank it is almost certainly original and the retainer and lines all look like they belong. But the undercarriage it too clean it has been redone at some point and not a ton of use after.

It is very easy to pull out, this way you can inspect the filter. Hammer and punch can remove the lock ring but the special tool make it easier. When assembling, make sure you re-install fuel line ground strap.