Fuel sending unit filter question

Discussion in 'Fuel and Air Systems' started by Dusten, Nov 28, 2018.

  1. Dusten

    Dusten New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Location:
    Redding,CA
    Local Time:
    11:43 AM
    I am trying to replace the filter on my fuel sending unit, on my 71 Duster. When I took it out of the tank it didn't have a filter on it. It just had this weird looking think on the end (see picture). Not sure if this is part of the filter or if the filter attaches on to this? Or do I need to remove this thing? I am having trouble finding one online. Does anyone no where I can get one online or part #. I don't want to buy an after market sending unit as they are not accurate and my sending unit still works when I tested it. Thanks in advance. fuel sending unit.jpg
     
  2. badlilred79

    badlilred79 badred360 FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    3,358
    Likes Received:
    233
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Location:
    Crossville TN
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    1:43 PM
     
  3. badlilred79

    badlilred79 badred360 FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    3,358
    Likes Received:
    233
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Location:
    Crossville TN
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    1:43 PM
    Vans auto sales one 3/8 unit is better like 59 or 69dollars I run them in my cars works grest
     
  4. g413

    g413 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    96
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Local Time:
    1:43 PM
  5. deviledchin

    deviledchin FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    38
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Location:
    Sellersville,Pa
    Local Time:
    2:43 PM
    Pull that black piece off of the steel line and install a new screen. R/T specialties also has the floats as well. Here is the link to the screen.
    2534111 FILTER FUEL TANK 3/8
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • deviledchin

      deviledchin FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      237
      Likes Received:
      38
      Joined:
      Mar 15, 2012
      Location:
      Sellersville,Pa
      Local Time:
      2:43 PM
      Well that link didn't work! Check out R/T specialties you'll find it there. I would also check the sender out to make sure it works correctly so you don't have to pull it out of the tank again. There are several threads to what the ohms should be when full/empty.
       
    • Dusten

      Dusten New Member

      Messages:
      3
      Likes Received:
      1
      Joined:
      Nov 28, 2018
      Location:
      Redding,CA
      Local Time:
      11:43 AM
      Thanks for that website, that looks like what I need. I think I need the 5/16 one though. I am now thinking that piece on the end is part of the old filter, the rest of it must have decayed away. I did that ohms test and it checked out, that is why I am trying to replace the filter. I was just going to by a whole new sending unit, but then I read the threads on here about the after market ones not being accurate. I think the reason my gas gauge was not working before was because there was no ground strap on the sending unit. This form is really great, it is so nice talking to people who actually know stuff about mopars. The guys at the parts stores are just clueless, they just give you the ford or chevy answers.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • deviledchin

        deviledchin FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        237
        Likes Received:
        38
        Joined:
        Mar 15, 2012
        Location:
        Sellersville,Pa
        Local Time:
        2:43 PM
        Ground the sending unit wire briefly to see if the gauge moves, if it does the gauge should be good. If it's wiring issue, the wire for the fuel gauge runs behind the d/s kick panel then up to the dash.
         
      • RedFish

        RedFish Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        22,281
        Likes Received:
        1385
        Joined:
        Sep 5, 2007
        Local Time:
        2:43 PM
        If you figure the total cost of filter/sock, a new float, and a new gasket, about half the cost of a complete new aftermarket sender. We know the scrubber contact in that sender will fail eventually but for now you retain the accuracy of OEM sender.
         
      • 69_340_GTS

        69_340_GTS Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        2,996
        Likes Received:
        961
        Joined:
        Jul 11, 2014
        Location:
        Torrington, CT
        View My Photos
        Local Time:
        2:43 PM
        That is correct. The screen will dissolve after decades of being soaked in gas, leaving the rest of the filter attached to the metal pipe.
         
      • Murray

        Murray FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        722
        Likes Received:
        314
        Joined:
        Apr 19, 2010
        Location:
        San Jose, California
        Local Time:
        11:43 AM
        Looks like you have a brass float. Before installing, submerge it in gas to be sure it is not taking in gas and sinking.
         
      • Dusten

        Dusten New Member

        Messages:
        3
        Likes Received:
        1
        Joined:
        Nov 28, 2018
        Location:
        Redding,CA
        Local Time:
        11:43 AM
        That is a great idea, I will definitely do that.