Gauge Cluster in 69 Barracuda- Restore or aftermarket?

Joined
Sep 8, 2020
Messages
19
Reaction score
5
Location
Camas, Washington
Hello, I'm looking to put aftermarket gauges in my stock bezel for my 69 Formula S project, I also could restore current ones, but would like a trip meter, clock, and a tach in the bezel, want to keep all gauges in the stock bezel, nothing mounted elsewhere. Would love to see any completed conversions or current projects and recommendations. Been looking at Dakota and Redline stuff, Speedhut was also recommended.

Thanks in advance

instrumentcluster.jpg
 

4spdragtop

CONGRATS NORTH AMERICA!
FABO Gold Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
35,634
Reaction score
17,545
Location
Wasting time here
Fyi, that is a 67 tach. Does the bezel have slots or holes for the radio?
 

Seandavid55

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Joined
May 3, 2021
Messages
174
Reaction score
262
Location
Chattaroy WA
If you go the Dakota digital route, be prepared. It will have to go to their custom shop, $$$$
 

devilchicken

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2014
Messages
281
Reaction score
182
Location
central Califorina
Check with Instrument specialties they can put modern guts behind your rallye gauge faces and even reprint your amp gauge face and make it a volts gauge if you like it is not cheap but its comparable to a full set of aftermarket gauges
 

Fast340cuda

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2013
Messages
298
Reaction score
193
Location
San Jose, ca
I just mounted this Stewart Warner tach into the rallye cluster for my 71 demon. Looks fairly close to the factory unit. Still need to paint the needle orange.
6B01B6CB-1BB8-49D6-A5A9-215C3CA247B1.jpeg
 

Fast340cuda

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2013
Messages
298
Reaction score
193
Location
San Jose, ca
That looks good. What part number is the tach? Do you have any pictures of the tach installed in the car?

Part number for the tach is 82181.

Dash isn’t installed yet, just finished modifying the frame to fit the rallye cluster and am now waiting for my reproduction bezel, has been on back order for months. I also converted my amp gauge to a volt meter using info from this site.

3CF1C0A5-0585-4C84-B4F0-21CDEF17F3D7.jpeg
472363B9-EB7D-4719-A0CE-B5ADC0A77E7C.jpeg
 

RhinoMan68

if its for a 1968 cuda 'vert I probably need it.
FABO Gold Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2020
Messages
133
Reaction score
66
Location
Northern VA

RhinoMan68

if its for a 1968 cuda 'vert I probably need it.
FABO Gold Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2020
Messages
133
Reaction score
66
Location
Northern VA

RedFish

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
25,409
Reaction score
4,624
Rallye dash autometer gauge swap | For A Bodies Only Mopar Forum
This isn't the 1st DIY we have seen here. I think its the most recent.
You don't want the OEM speedometer with trip clock. Ma mopar cheaped out in that digit spool. They put plastic gears inside it. They put the 10ths wheel over in the trip clock. Any resistance in others, including all the odometer digits, is transferred back to that one. It is bound to fail.
 
Last edited:

Mike69cuda

Mopar Moron
FABO Gold Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2018
Messages
3,054
Reaction score
2,723
Location
Overland Park Kansas
I’m not sure I get the point of converting an amp meter to a volt meter with no readable scale for the voltage.
 

92b

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2013
Messages
499
Reaction score
248
Location
Breda,Iowa
Part number for the tach is 82181.

Dash isn’t installed yet, just finished modifying the frame to fit the rallye cluster and am now waiting for my reproduction bezel, has been on back order for months. I also converted my amp gauge to a volt meter using info from this site.

View attachment 1715863809 View attachment 1715863811
Thank you for the part number. Now I have to ask where you found the amp gauge information.
 

Fast340cuda

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2013
Messages
298
Reaction score
193
Location
San Jose, ca
I’m not sure I get the point of converting an amp meter to a volt meter with no readable scale for the voltage.

it’s pretty easy to apply voltage to the new gauge after the face swap to see where the needle points to have a reference. At 12 volts it’s roughly in the center on the gauge.
 
Top