1. trowlands007

    trowlands007 Cuda Tom

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Location:
    Olympia,Wa
    Local Time:
    3:46 PM
    OK, I'm installing some aftermarket mechanical oil and temp gauges. and I am trying to find a good place to drill the hole for the lines to go through the firewall. and 65 darts don't really have many places to drill through the firewall because they are so narrow. if anyone can give me an idea of a good place to drill it would be very helpful. thank you,
     
  2. Dana67Dart

    Dana67Dart Like a fine wine, only getting better with age! FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    6,928
    Likes Received:
    4609
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Local Time:
    4:46 PM
    My dad drilled a small hole in the grommet for the speedo cable for an oil pressure hard line. It's on a 67 dart but might give you some ideas.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Jim64

      Jim64 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      36
      Likes Received:
      37
      Joined:
      Jun 15, 2014
      Location:
      Escondido, CA
      Local Time:
      3:46 PM
      As Dana said, use the hole for the speedo cable. I acquired another grommet for that hole, and it allows for a braided oil pressure line and a 1/8" line for a vacuum gauge.
       
      • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • kursplat

        kursplat FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        3,988
        Likes Received:
        2920
        Joined:
        Aug 24, 2010
        Location:
        so cal
        Local Time:
        3:46 PM
        is the car an automatic? does it have a body plug where the clutch linkage would go? i don't know about 65's...
         
      • cudamark

        cudamark FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        8,589
        Likes Received:
        1231
        Joined:
        Mar 14, 2009
        Location:
        San Diego
        Local Time:
        3:46 PM
        So, you like live lines inside your interior eh? I would recommend either a copper line or stainless braided line and not a plastic one. Ok, is it a slant or small block?
         
        • Agree Agree x 1
        • kursplat

          kursplat FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

          Messages:
          3,988
          Likes Received:
          2920
          Joined:
          Aug 24, 2010
          Location:
          so cal
          Local Time:
          3:46 PM
          ha, i've suggested the same thing before, (yes, i run steel braided with AN fittings for the oil gauge), amazing how many people like plastic lines
           
        • cudamark

          cudamark FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

          Messages:
          8,589
          Likes Received:
          1231
          Joined:
          Mar 14, 2009
          Location:
          San Diego
          Local Time:
          3:46 PM
          Yup, until that line pops loose in the interior with the RPM's up on a hot engine. :steering:
           
        • trowlands007

          trowlands007 Cuda Tom

          Messages:
          5
          Likes Received:
          5
          Joined:
          Apr 20, 2016
          Location:
          Olympia,Wa
          Local Time:
          3:46 PM
          small block, and yes electic senders are unreliable , i've had issues with them and the ones in the car now don't work so i am getteing rid of them and using gauges that i know work and are accurate. and i agree about the plastic line
           
        • trowlands007

          trowlands007 Cuda Tom

          Messages:
          5
          Likes Received:
          5
          Joined:
          Apr 20, 2016
          Location:
          Olympia,Wa
          Local Time:
          3:46 PM
          i didn't see one and it's omn the wrong side anyway the gauges are mounted in the middle of the car to the bottom of the dash.
           
        • Keith Mopar

          Keith Mopar Mopar Nut

          Messages:
          3,166
          Likes Received:
          1715
          Joined:
          May 15, 2005
          Location:
          Calgary AB.
          Local Time:
          4:46 PM
          You could use the throttle rod hole that is used on the slant. It should just have a plate over it if your car is a V8 car.
           
        • trowlands007

          trowlands007 Cuda Tom

          Messages:
          5
          Likes Received:
          5
          Joined:
          Apr 20, 2016
          Location:
          Olympia,Wa
          Local Time:
          3:46 PM
          YEP THAT'S WHAT I DID, HAD TO DRILL THROUGH THE PLATE BUT I WORKS PERFECT THANK YOU ALL FOR YOUR IDEAS AND HELP.
           
          • Like Like x 1
          1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
            By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.