Generator for Running a Spot Welder?

-

mopars4life

Reaction score
Picked up a good deal on CL for a spot welder (link below).
Welder, Spot
I believe the welder is made by Lenco for snap on.

I don't have a 50a 208/230v circuit in the garage.

I found the generator below with a 50amp circuit, but it's wattage is a bit low based on my research with what this welder runs at (but I am not an expert). This generator, I think would need 11,600 running watts plus you want extra, probably closer to 14-15,000 watts.
H07552 7500 Watt Dual Fuel Elec. – Firman Power Equipment

My question is if anyone has tried using a spot welder like this with a generator and had good results. It has a big draw but doesn't run as continuously as other welders I've seen used with generators. I didn't want to have that line run to the garage as we may be moving. The oven circuit in the house isn't close enough to run an extension to the garage and that's the only 50amp in the house that runs on 230. Just thought I would see if anyone had any thoughts or suggestions? I could run a surge protector on the line to protect the welder if it could work and I would need an adapter for the 4 on the generator to 3 on the welder. I won't be able to afford a 2-3000 dollar generator so my options are limited here.

Running a temporary line to garage would be your cheapest option.overloading a generator wont work.
Spot welder is a big surge,so running amperage has to be able to put up with the 50 amp draw.

Running a temporary line to garage would be your cheapest option.overloading a generator wont work.
Spot welder is a big surge,so running amperage has to be able to put up with the 50 amp draw.
Thanks, not sure a temporary line would be safe or feasible.

The Snap On is just a over priced Lenco unit. Now if you can get it cheap enough then go for it.

https://www.tooltopia.com/lenco-l40...ign=PLA&scid=scbplpLNXL4000&sc_intid=LNXL4000